Danny Wood Tops ASCS Lone Star Region at Devil’s Bowl!

From Lonnie Wheatley

MESQUITE, Texas (July 9, 2011) – Danny Wood broke into victory lane for the first time this year by winning Saturday night’s 25-lap The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star main event atop the ½-mile Devil’s Bowl Speedway clay oval.

After gunning into the lead at the outset from the pole position, Wood repelled some mid-race challenges in traffic from Matt Covington en route to victory lane aboard the Fisher-powered State Wide Service Center/D&J Land No. 81 J&J.

Wood beat current Lone Star points leader Covington to the stripe, with Travis Rilat in the show position. George White raced from 12th to fourth, with Brian McClelland rounding out the top five.

Michael Lang was sixth, with Martin Edwards, John Ricketts, Claud Estes and Ryan Beechler completing the top ten.

The initial attempt to start the feature was waved off when Evan Pardo flipped, collecting defending series champion Eric Baldaccini and Justin Melton in the process. All three were done for the night.

On the ensuing restart, front row outside starter Zach Chappell turned over in the opening pair of corners and was done as well with Rilat moving to the front row outside starting position.

Baldaccini, Covington and Wood topped Saturday night’s heat race action.

The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region Results from Devil’s Bowl Speedway:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 2. 54-Evan Pardo, 3. 74e-Claud Estes, 4. 92-Zach Chappell, 5. 11-Justin Melton, 6. 45-Martin Edwards, 7. 22-Dan Adkins.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 11c-Matt Covington, 2. 29-Travis Rilat, 3. 20-Chad Wilson, 4. 45k-Kolt Walker, 5. 12-Dale Wester, 6. 45x-J.P. Bailey, 7. 6-Ryan Beechler.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 81-Danny Wood, 2. 25-Brian McClelland, 3. 14-Michael Lang, 4. 10-George White, 5. 14b-Robert Byrom, 6. 2-Logan Payne, 7. 76-John Ricketts.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 81-Danny Wood, 2. 11c-Matt Covington, 3. 29-Travis Rilat, 4. 10-George White, 5. 25-Brian McClelland, 6. 14-Michael Lang, 7. 45-Martin Edwards, 8. 76-John Ricketts, 9. 74e-Claud Estes, 10. 6-Ryan Beechler, 11. 45k-Kolt Walker, 12. 12-Dale Wester, 13. 20-Chad Wilson, 14. 2-Logan Payne, 15. 45x-J.P. Bailey, 16. 14b-Robert Byrom, 17. 92-Zach Chappell, 18. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 19. 54-Evan Pardo, 20. 11-Justin Melton. DNS: 22-Dan Adkins.

The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Matt Covington 1,153, 2. Claud Estes 1,075, 3. Eric Baldaccini 1,065, 4. Michael Lang 1,039, 5. Martin Edwards 1,038, 6. Justin Melton 1,015, 7. Evan Pardo 969, 8. John Ricketts 924, 9. Robert Byrom 904, 10. Dale Wester 744.