ventura raceway logo

by Cliff Morgan

Brent Camarillo made it win number one in his VRA Sprint Car career Saturday night winning the 30 lap VRA 360 Sprint Car Main Event. He took the lead on lap 9 from Jace Vanderweerd and led the rest of the way to take the win. The popular win was a special night for his family, brother Brian, dad Bill and the fans in attendance. Brent has scored many top five finishes but the first win had eluded him until
Saturday night. Following Brent across the line were Jace Vanderweerd, Brian Camarillo, Markus Niemela and Richard Vanderweerd. A smaller than normal field of 15 cars caused only 2 heat races to be run with wins going to Tom Hendricks in the Extreme Muffler heat one and Greg Taylor in the Joie of seating heat two. Greg Taylor continues to lead in the season point race. After 19 races he holds a 610 point lead over Brian Camarillo who moved into second place after Steve Conrad had a nasty flip in heat one that necessitated a trip to the hospital for a check up ending his night.

Twelve Senior Sprints were on hand Saturday night with two heat races held. Wins went to Clif Warren in the Spin Tech Muffler heat one and Victor Davis in the Maxwell Industries heat two. Their 20 lap main event that went green-white-checker one week ago was another story Saturday night. Incidents before a complete lap was completed took out four of the starters including point leader Rob Kershaw. The 20 lap feature win went to Richard McCormick who has won two of the last three events. Following him across the line were Warren,Ed Schwarz, Bruce Douglass and Chris Meredith. Point leader Rob Kershaw finished 10th and now holds a 155 point lead over Cliff Warren after 10 races.

VRA Dwarf Cars races in two classes on Saturday. In Pros, the feature win went to Lars Wolfe over Randy Gordon, Mike Lewis Devlin Autrey and Curt Cook. They ran two heats with wins going to Johnathon Henry in heat one and Mike Lewis in heat two. Ray Estrada continues to lead in Pro points by 90 points over Mike Lewis after 12 events. In Senior Dwarf competition, Mike Neal took the win over Keith Vondersaar,Bill VanPraag, Bobby Lague and George Sack Jr. They ran two heat races with the wins going to Mike Neal and Keith Vondersaar. After 10 races held so far in the 2011 season, George Calvo leads Mike Neal by 105 points.

VRA Mod Lites ran one heat race with the win going to Kevin Alverson. In this race, Chris Kornder had the dubious honor of being the first to roll a mod lite at Ventura as he rolled over in turn four doing substantial damage to his number 5. He was able to get it repaired and was able to start the feature. In the feature the win went to Alverson over Michael Sweeney Jr., Dave Dotson, debuting his new number 11 and Chris Kordner.

A non-point VRA Go Kart race was held with 9 karts in attendance. The heat race win went to Kevin Manning and the 20 lap feature win went to Cody Nigh over Kenny Byers Jr, Justin Raper, Ashley Hazleton and Johnny Conley.

The final groups racing on Saturday were our kids classes. in Mini Dwarf Pistons it was Garrett Egan scoring the heat race win and then J D Brown tok his firth win in a row in the feature. In Mini Dwarf Superchargers the main event win went to Destyn Garcia. In Junior Midget action, the heat race win went Brennan Rogers. Oliver Blades then took the 15 lap main event over Devin McCree,Rogers, Miles Hedrick and Mike Long. Point leader Devin McCree continues to lead the points by 20 over Brennan Rogers after 9 events.

Ventura Raceway resumes racing Saturday October 15, after a week off on October 8, with a full program of racing featuring VRA Sprints, Senior Sprints, Dwarf Cars, Mod Lites, California Lightning Sprints and our Kids classes