lincoln speedway

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA , 3/3/12 – To pick up his first win of the season, Brent Marks only had to improve one spot from opening day. And he did.

In fact, the only car he didn’t pass last week was the car he passed to take the lead and drive away to his fifth career win in at Lincoln Speedway Saturday afternoon.

Marks drew the number two pill for the start of the 25-lap feature and chased opening day winner Adam Wilt for the first six laps before driving under the North York AutoMenders #15 exiting turn two of lap seven. He then held off the charging sprinters of Kevin Nouse and 12th-starting Danny Dietrich to take the $3,200 win a quarter of-a-second over the C.C.Dietz #14 of fifth-starting Nouse.

“This is awesome!” said Marks upon exiting his TJ’s Body Shop/Memtech Services/KC Automotive/BAPS Auto Paints & Supply #19M in victory lane, “I had my crew chief Cory put a new team together for this year. We found a lot of things we were missing last year, so went out and sought some new help. These guys brought some experience with them. Richard Hockenberry and Andy Bream brought their ‘A game’ with them this year, and this really proves it.”

“We made a decision after the consi, and Andy and the guys got it done, and that decision won the race today,” said Marks, “I kinda worked on my restarts here over the past couple of years, and just learned this track and how guys are just overdriving the first turn. I’ve done it a million times myself. After the heat races, I saw it was starting to build up in one and two, and I knew I was going to be on the bottom. I was waiting for it to come in and it did.”

“The tire held up and starting shaking a little bit there at the end, so I knew how to back off a little bit,” continued Marks, “I kinda blew it down through one and two and missed my line a little bit. I got a little sideways and got a chance to take a peak and see how close they were, so I knew I could back off a little bit.”

Crossing fourth behind Marks, Nouse, and Dietrich were 15th-starting Cory Haas and 13th-starting Alan Krimes. Completing the top ten were Doug Esh, Wilt, 16th-starting Fred Rahmer, Cody Darrah, and Ryan Bohlke.

Heats for the 33 “410” Sprinters were won by Marks, Greg Hodnett, Danny Dietrich, and Aaron Ott, with Kyle Pruitt winning the consolation.

Lincoln swings back into action next Saturday (3/10), with the 410 sprinters being joined by the 358 sprints in their season opener. Gates for the March 10th show open at noon.

Sat., March 3, 2012
Abbottstown, PA
Feature (25-Laps) – 1. 19M-Brent Marks ($3,200); 2. 14-Kevin Nouse; 3. 48-Danny Dietrich; 4. 11C-Cory Haas; 5. 87-Alan Krimes; 6. 30-Doug Esh; 7. 15-Adam Wilt; 8. 51-Fred Rahmer; 9. 89-Cody Darrah; 10. 2-Ryan Bohlke; 11. 6-Brad McClelland; 12. 4-John Rudisill; 13. 39-Greg Hodnett; 14. 92-JJ Grasso; 15. 59-Jim Siegel; 16. D4-Danny Holtgraver; 17. 85-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 18. 21K-Kyle Pruitt; 19. 77-Aaron Ott (DNF); 20. 17-Brian Leppo (DNF); 21. 65-Johnny Mackison, Jr. (DNF); 22. 38N-Nick Schlauch, Jr. (DNF); 23. 8-Billy Dietrich (DNF); 24. 1S-Logan Schuchart (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Adam Wilt (1-6), Brent Marks (7-25)

1st Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 19M-Brent Marks; 2. 14-Kevin Nouse; 3. 15-Adam Wilt; 4. 87-Alan Krimes; 5. 85-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 6. 21K-Kyle Pruitt; 7. 175-Jeff Geiges; 8. 95-Hunter Mackison; 9. 21-Brian Montieth (DNF). No Time

2nd Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 39-Greg Hodnett; 2. 8-Billy Dietrich; 3. 89-Cody Darrah; 4. 6-Brad McClelland; 5. 1S-Logan Schuchart; 6. 17-Brian Leppo; 7. 20S-Derek Sell; 8. 84-Chad Criswell. Time – 2:40. 295

3rd Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 48-Danny Dietrich; 2. 30-Doug Esh; 3. 4-John Rudisill; 4. 11C-Cory Haas; 5. 59-Jim Siegel; 6. 92-JJ Grasso; 7. 0-Steve Storrie; 8. 65-Johnny Mackison, Jr. (DNF). No Time

4th Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 77-Aaron Ott; 2. 2-Ryan Bohlke; 3. D4-Danny Holtgraver; 4. 51-Fred Rahmer; 5. 38N-Nick Schlauch, Jr.; 6. 0L-Rick Lafferty; 7. 50-Austin Reed; DNS – 27-Daryn Pittman. Time – 2:46.638

Consolation (10 Laps/4 to qualify) – 1. 21K-Kyle Pruitt; 2. 92-JJ Grasso; 3. 17-Brian Leppo; 4. 65-Johnny Mackison, Jr.; 5. 0L-Rick Lafferty; 6. 0S-Steve Storrie; 7. 20S-Derek Sell; 8. 27-Daryn Pittman; 9. 175-Jeff Geiges; 10. 50-Austin Reed; 11. 21-Brian Montieth; 12. 84-Chad Criswell; 13. 95-Hunter Mackison. Time – 2:49.908

Highlights courtesy of

Victory Lane…