Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprint Stars Head to Selinsgrove for Mach 1 Series Opener This Saturday

By Dean Reynolds

SYRACUSE, NY – For some of the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints (ESS) teams, the first on track action is this Saturday, March 24th at the famed Selinsgrove Speedway as the Mach 1 Series kicks off. The 25 lap A-Main will pay a cool $2,500 to win and $250 to start which will bring a stout field of 360 sprint cars.

The Mach 1 Series is formed by Brian Scandle and Mark Smith which consists of six races with five of them coming at Selinsgrove and one being held at the Lincoln Speedway. ESS will have a part in four of the events which caps off at the National Open on Sept. 1st that pays a whopping $8,000 to the winner.

Leading the ESS invasion will be defending champion Chuck Hebing. The “Cobra” already took some laps at the Snyder County oval last weekend during the annual Race of Champions Icebreaker Weekend. Joining Hebing’s familiar #45 will be arch rival and three-time ESS champion Steve Poirier. Fellow Quebec natives Michael Parent and Patrick Vigneault will also be making the trip south.

The 2010 rookie of the year Kevin Ward Jr., female standout Jessica Zemken, who will be seeing plenty of ESS action on 2012 and part-time competitor Steve Collins will bring up the invasion taking on the some of the best teams in the northeast.

The starting time has been pushed back from the original posted with gates now opening at 4 and the racing action set to get underway at 6 PM.

Not only will the Central Pa. fans get a little ESS flare on the track but the Lucas Oil/ESS merchandise trailer will be on hand for fans to take a look at the latest 2012 apparel.

ESS will also be a part of the Mach 1 Series on June 20th at Lincoln, Aug 5th and the Open on Sept. 1st at Selinsgrove also placed on the schedule.

After the Selinsgrove event, the battle for the overall championship for the ESS’ 30th season is set to begin on Sat. Apr. 28th at Can-Am Motorsports Park. The 2012 tour has over 30 dates scheduled with the tradition of the largest total point fund in the area to be continued.

For the latest up to date information please log on to or follow us on Facebook or Twitter. The Lucas Oil Tour for 2012 where the tradition continues of excitement guaranteed!

Past Empire Super Sprint Winners at Selinsgrove

May 18, 1996 Bobby Parrow

July 6, 1996 Rick Koenig (ESS/URC Challenge)

The Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints are brought to you by: Lucas Oil, Le Groupe Ultra, SUNY Canton, Hoosier Racing Tires, Westward Painting Company, Fondations 4 Saisons, North Eastern Pool and Spa, Mach 1 Chassis, Lee’s Repair Auto and Truck, Car Mate Trailers, The National Parts Peddler Newspaper, Cobra Coaches, The Ohsweken Speedway, Fondations 55, Mohawk Racing Parts, Engine Research, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Riverside Bar and Grill, Northwood 2 Construction/LaSalle Motorsports, 730 Truck Stop, Jasmin Peloquin Sport, FX Chevy and many, many associate sponsors.