Sprint Cars On Oklahoma Sports Park Soil This Saturday Night

John Lemon

Tulsa Oklahoma (May 8. 2012) – The last time Oil Capital Racing Series winged sprint cars were on the soil of the Oklahoma Sports Park in Ada Oklahoma, a dramatic finish entertained the packed grandstands and race fans left the facility with an energetic buzz from what they had just witnessed. Pauls Valley Oklahoma resident Gary Owens won his first ever OCRS main event in a finish that will be remembered by many for years to come.

The event was the 5th running of the “Oklahoma State Championship” and Drumright Oklahoma’s Fred Mattox was set to win the race (which would have been his first OCRS victory). Weather played a role as a light rain began to fall and OCRS officials called for a white flag early to finish the race. Mattox, just yards from the finish line, got into the wall and crashed while Owens slipped underneath for an incredible victory. It is dramatic finishes such as this that race fans crave when attending sprint car events and thus it keeps one thirsting for more of the same.

Coming this Saturday night, May 12th, the OCRS sprint cars will once again take to the 4/10 mile track in what is expected to be another great racing event. With three events already in the books for the chase of the 2012 “Goodyear Tire & Rubber OCRS Championship”, Danny “Caretaker” Smith, who was a winner last week at the Mid-America Speedway, leads the early points chart (240-222) over Jammin’ Jamie Passmore who won the first two OCRS main events (Brill Motor Speedway / Humboldt Speedway). Sitting a surprise third is Sperry Oklahoma’s Casey Wills. With two top fives, Wills has produced the best start in his sprint car career with steady consistency.

2011 OCRS runner –up Whit “Gasman” Gastineau, OCRS rookie of the year contender Alex Sewell and Shayla “Princess” Waddell make up positions fourth-sixth. In fact, only a mere five points separate third place Wills from sixth place Waddell! In addition to Owens, other “western” Oklahoma area drivers whom have a history of taking on the “eastern” state contingent include: Norman’s Danny Jennings, Choctaw’s Kyle Cobb, Oklahoma City settler Kerry McAlister and his city neighbor, Joe Wood Junior, who is expected to be in the “Hog Wagon” at OSP.

Attention OCRS Teams: Unaltered Schoenfeld part #112535 or part # 112530 are mandatory. Part # 14272735-78 is optional. For muffler and/or any other rule inquiries, check the rule section of the OCRS website or call Barry Grabel at: (918) 260-3899.

What: Ground pounding 360 winged sprint cars of the Oil Capital Racing Series

Where: Oklahoma Sports Park / Ada, Oklahoma

When: Saturday, May 12, 2012

Oklahoma Sports Park is home to a 4/10 mile clay, oval track and is located just 10 miles northwest of Ada, Oklahoma on state highway 3W.

Track Phone: 580-332-5535 / Promoters Phone: 580-332-5383

Track website: www.oklahomasportspark.com

Oklahoma Sports Park gates will open at 5pm / Hot Laps @ 7pm / Racing starts @ 7:30pm

OCRS drivers meeting will commence at 6:15pm.

Former OCRS winners at Oklahoma Sports Park

5.19.07: Mike Goodman

7.14.07: Chris Burns

9.22.07: Mike Goodman*

5.31.08: Mike Goodman

9.20.08: Danny Smith*

5.30.09: Frank Dittman**

9.19.09: Andy Shouse*

6.12.10: Mike Goodman**

7.10.10: Jamie Passmore

9.18.10: Whit Gastineau*

5.14.11: Whit Gastineau**

7.09.11: Whit Gastineau

9.17.11: Gary Owens*

*Denotes date of Oklahoma State Championship event

** Denotes date of “Harold Leep Jr. Memorial” event

NOTE: The 2012 “Harold Leep Jr. Memorial” event will be held @ OSP on July 28, 2012.

The “Oklahoma State Championship” will be held on September 15, 2012.