KISS Sprint Cars Roar Into Lawrenceburg Speedway Saturday

kiss King of Indiana Sprint Series

By Mike O’Leary

May 16, 2012 – With two races behind them and three still ahead, the King of Indiana Sprint Series converges on the very quick Lawrenceburg Speedway this Saturday evening. In its twelfth year, the KISS tour crisscrosses the state, scheduled to compete at seven tracks in as many weekends. With two complete events and an unfortunate pair of rainouts, the KISS racers travel to the southeastern corner of the state, just outside of Cincinnati, for their next program.

Coming off his first KISS victory, in the opening race at the Terre Haute Action Track, Robert Ballou leads Dave Darland, the Gas City race winner, by just 24 points. Coleman Gulick is only six points behind Darland, with five-time KISS King Jon Stanbrough four points further back. It’s a situation where no point lead is safe, and there are a number of drivers who could capture their first crown, or second, and one who could still earn his sixth.

However they will need to contend with gritty Thomas Meseraull, who has already tallied two consecutive victories at the ‘Burg this spring. Previous KISS feature winners at the popular oval include Brandon Petty (2005), AJ Anderson (2006), Jon Stanbrough (2007), Nic Faas (2009), Brady Short (2010), and Daron Clayton in a rain-shortened event last year.

KISS sprint car features pay $2,500 to win, and $250 to start. This year, the KISS promoters have also included tow money, where any car that does not transfer to the feature will collect at least $100. Additionally, the point fund has increased to $4,200, with the series champion earning $1,200. Second in points will collect $900, and third through fifth will receive $800, $700 and $600.

Saturday is Scout Night at Lawrenceburg and the front gate will open at 5:00 pm, the pits at 4:00, with hot laps beginning at 6:00 and the opening ceremonies at 7:00. All Scouts in uniform will receive free general admission. Adult tickets are $20, tickets for kids 7 to 12 are just $7, and ages 6 and under are admitted free. Pit passes are $30. In addition to the KISS sprint cars series, the racing program includes UMP modifieds and pure stocks.

Lawrenceburg’s 3/8 mile high banked oval is also host to the World of Outlaws on Memorial Day, Monday, May 28. More information about the Lawrenceburg Speedway, including directions and the 2012 schedule is available at

The next KISS series event will compete at Tri-State Speedway, in Haubstadt on May 27. This year’s King of Indiana will then be crowned after the finale, at Paragon Speedway on June 2.

KISS Points: 1. Robert Ballou 374, 2. Dave Darland 350, 3. Coleman Gulick 344, 4. Jon Stanbrough 340, 5. Jerry Coons Jr. 331, 6. Hunter Schuerenberg 318, 7. Wes McIntyre 316, 8. Thomas Meseraull 297, 9. Justin Grant 285, 10. Jonathan Hendrick 282


April 22 – Terre Haute Action Track — Robert Ballou
April 29 – Kokomo Speedway – Rain
May 4 – Bloomington Speedway – Rain
May 11 – Gas City I-69 Speedway — Dave Darland
May 19 – Lawrenceburg Speedway
May 27 – Tri-State Speedway
June 2 – Paragon Speedway