Whitney and Brown Win at Jackson

From Jackson Speedway

Jackson, MN — (June 1, 2012) — It has been a few seasons since Travis Whitney has visited victory lane in Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprint Series action, but the Coon Valley, MN driver topped the action on Friday evening at Jackson Speedway as the outlaw 410 sprints made their lone Minnesota appearance of the 2012 season. The appearance at Jackson Speedway was the first stop on a triple-header weekend for the Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars.

Whitney the 2006 series champion would work from the outside front-row in the feature contest enroute to his 31st career series victory.

Whitney was chased to the checkered flag by Jason Johnson of Eunice, Louisiana. Johnson the current point leader in the ASCS Sprint Car series also finished second earlier in the night in his heat race. Johnson would started eighth on the grid in the main event spent much of the contest working forward eventually having to settle for second behind Whitney.

Scott Winters making his first appearance of 2012 in Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Series would cross the finish line in third with a solid run on Jackson Speedway’s half-mile clay oval. Winters who has competed in the IRA series on a limited basis has several victories series victories including a sweep of the IRA Sprint portion of the Masters event at Cedar Lake Speedway in 2009.

Brian Brown a former 410 Sprint champion at Knoxville Raceway worked up from this ninth starting spot on the grid to claim fourth with Terry McCarl who has over 250 career sprint car victories at over 50 tracks in his career would round out the top five in the start filled field.

Kaley Gharst former Knoxville Speedway rookie of the year crossed the line in sixth after starting on the pole for the event. Billy Balog overcame his recent streak of bad luck as the 4-time and defending IRA Sprint champion earned a seventh place finish. Current IRA point leader Mike Reinke was credited with eighth. Robbie Wolfgang and Phillip Mock completed the top ten finishers.

The IRA Outlaw Sprints now head several hours east to Cedar Lake Speedway as the series plays it’s part in the inaugural Triple Crown on Saturday Night, June 2nd. The main event features a $3,000 payout to the winner. Also on hand during the evening will be NASCAR Late Models and NASCAR Modifieds. The triple header weekend wraps up with a stop at Eagle Valley Speedway in Jim Falls, WI on Sunday evening June 3rd.

For more information on the IRA Outlaw Sprints check out the tour website at www.irasprints.com

The IRA Outlaw Sprint Series is proudly supported by Bumper to Bumper Auto Parts & Service Centers, Osborn & Son Trucking, Goodyear, TW Metals, Cummins Onan, DNA Energy Drink& Snacks, MPT Industries, UltraLube, Big Game Treestands, Carriage Auto Body, Otis Gun, Mother’s Polishes and Waxes and Polaris DEFENSE. The office of the IRA Sprints can be reached at 815-759-9269 or by e-mail at steve@irasprints.com


Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprints:

A-Main: 1.) Travis Whitney; 2.) Jason Johnson; 3.) Scott Winters; 4.) Brian Brown; 5.) Terry McCarl; 6.) Kaley Gharst; 7.) Bill Balog; 8.) Mike Reinke; 9.) Robbie Wolfgang; 10.) Phillip Mock; 11.) Russel Borland; 12.) John Sernett; 13.) Ned Powers; 14.) Todd King; 15.) Kris Spitz; 16.) Skylar Prochiska; 17.) Brandon Thone; 18.) Robbie Pribnow; 19.) Dennis Spitz; 20.) Jody Rosenbloom; 21.) Scott Neitzel

Heat 1: 1.) Winters; 2.) Reinke; 3.) Brown; 4.) Borland
Heat 2: 1.) Gharst; 2.) Prochiska; 3.) Wolfgang; 4.) Rosenbloom
Heat 3: 1.) Whitney; 2.) Johnson; 3.) McCarl

Qualifying: No qualifying due to weather

Brian Brown won the $5,000 to win 360 sprint car main.