ocean speedway Taco Bravo 360 sprint car series

Steven Blakesley

WATSONVILLE, CALIFORNIA (June 6, 2012) – The three-way battle for the Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo championship continues on Friday night, with Fremont’s Shane Golobic leading two-time feature winner and 2011 champion Ronnie Day of Salinas and Stockton’s Brad Furr rounds out the top-three.

The dynamic points battle has been highlighted by the fact that neither Golobic or Furr has taken home a feature victory through the first five rounds of competition. Golobic and Furr will try to tame an Ocean Speedway Watsonville that bit a couple of drivers last Friday night including Eric Humphries of Chowchilla in his heat race and Fresno 15 year-old Dominic Scelzi in the feature. Both drivers were transported to local hospitals but are home and expecting full recoveries from minor injuries.

2011 Johnny Key Classic winner Ronnie Day, with two wins including last Friday night’s contest, is the only repeat winner in the division but also has a pair of DNFs this season.

Golobic leads Day by 12 markers with Furr 17 points off the lead in the third position. Other main event winners in the 2012 Ocean Sprints season have included Bud Kaeding on opening night, Brent Kaeding in round two, and 2010 champion Tommy Tarlton who won round four. Bud Kaeding has also finished second on two different occasions but is deep in the points due to missing a pair of races.

Tarlton and his rookie teammate Carson Macedo are expected again on Friday night to challenge the Ocean Sprints regulars that include San Martin’s “Cowboy” Craig Smith and Gilroy’s Kurt Nelson who are fourth and fifth in the points respectively.

Rounding out the top-ten in the series standings are San Jose’s Nick Green, top rookie Jason Chisum of Salinas, Salinas’ Carter Train, Ryan Rusconi of San Jose, and Jeremy Chisum of Salinas.

Friday’s races for the Ocean Sprints will also include racing for the Four Bangers, American Stocks, Sport Mods, and Wingless Sprints. Adult tickets are just $17 with seniors 65+ $15 and kids ages 6-12 are $13. The family pass for two adults and two children is value priced at just $55. Qualifying will get underway at 6 p.m. with fan gates opening at 4:30 p.m.

For more information on the Ocean Sprint Cars presented by Taco Bravo log onto and for more on the Ocean Speedway visit

Ocean Speedway would like to thank Taco Bravo, Digital Delivery Networks, Get Som Sports, Ray Scheidt’s Electric, Hoosier Tires West, and Kaeding Performance for their support of the 2012 Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo.