mscs midwest sprint car series

mscs midwest sprint car seriesFrom MSCS

Haubstadt, IN – June 22, 2012.  The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series will complete the first half of the 2012 season by competing in the “MSCS Summer Blast” at Tri-State Speedway on Saturday night June 30th.  This is the first year for this particular event to be on the track’s schedule.  It falls at mid season during the first full week of summer and on the weekend just before the 4th of July.  The non-wing sprints of MSCS will be competing in a 30 lap main event. The winner will receive $2,500.
The MSCS races have continued to be very competitive this season. Levi Jones’ recent win at Terre Haute added to the ever growing list of different winners this season.  The series has held 6 races at 3 different tracks and the results show 6 different winners.  Jones joined Brady Short, Jon Stanbrough, Hunter Schuerenberg, Thomas Meseraull, and Robert Ballou in registering victories this season.

Jon Stanbrough has been the closest to becoming the first repeat winner of this season by also collecting two runner-up finishes.     But the competition doesn’t stop at the very front of the pack.

Eighteen different drivers have broke into the top five before crossing the finish line.  That is almost a complete field of cars capable of running at the front on a given night.  Those drivers finishing in the top five the most often include winners Jon Stanbrough, Robert Ballou, and Levi Jones plus Damion Gardner, Kevin
Thomas Jr., and Kyle Cummins.
Jon Stanbrough of Brownsburg, IN, continues to lead the MSCS standings heading back to Haubstadt for the upcoming Summer Blast. Robert Ballou has stayed in close contention for the title after leading the standings at the beginning of this season.  The difference between the two drivers is only 15 points.  Drivers
receive 20 points for showing up to race.  The point spread for the top 9 drivers is only a hundred markers.  A really successful outing or two by a single driver could shake up the driver standings.  Chase Stockon used a respectable sixth place finish at Terre Haute to move up to third place in the points.  Hunter Schuerenberg and Damion Gardner currently round out the top five in the standings.
The grandstands will open at 4:30 on the 30th.  The pit gates will open an hour earlier, at 3:30, for competitors.  The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds will also be competing.  Hot laps are at 6:30 and racing gets underway at 7:30.  Tri-State Speedway is in the Central time zone.

1)   21x    Jon Stanbrough                      376     Leader
2)   11p    Robert Ballou                       361    -15
3)   32     Chase Stockon                       334    -42
4)   35     Hunter Schuerenberg                 309    -67
5)   71     Damion Gardner                      303    -73
6)   3c     Kyle Cummins                        293    -83
7)   10     Blake Fitzpatrick                   281    -95
8)   36     Brady Short                         278    -98
9)   68     Jonathan Hendrick                   276   -100
10)  3F     Braylon Fitzpatrick                 270   -106
11)  20     Levi Jones                          248   -128
12)  38W    Chet Williams (Rookie)              183   -193