Steven Blakesley

WATSONVILLE, CALIFORNIA (July 17, 2012) – After a two week break, the Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo will return to action this Friday night at John Prentice’s Ocean Speedway Watsonville for the second qualifier for the 2012 Johnny Key Classic. 2010 Ocean Sprints champion and 50th Johnny Key Classic winner Tommy Tarlton locked himself into the 2012 Key by winning the last Ocean Sprints feature on June 29.

The top-two drivers in Ocean Sprints points, Fremont’s Shane Golobic and Stockton’s Brad Furr, are both winless on the season. Breaking through for their first victory during a Johnny Key Classic qualifier would undoubtedly make the win even sweeter if one of them can pull off the feat on Friday.

The $10,000 to win 52nd Johnny Key Classic, presented by DDNi, will be held on Saturday night August 25. The winner (or highest finishing car not yet locked in) of each of the four qualifying races will earn automatic starting positions in the field along with the two highest drivers in the series standings not yet locked in heading into the event.

Golobic, driving Steve Osborne’s #9j, is coming off his only DNF of the year after tagging the wall and suffering suspension damage. Golobic’s misfortunes closed his points lead to just 15 points over Furr, who drives the Price Rite Restaurant Equipment #2 ride.

Furr finished second to Tarlton in the recent qualifier and looks to be a threat to improve just one position and take a spot in the Key. Another driver to watch on Friday night will surely be Campbell’s Bud Kaeding after winning the 2012 Ocean Sprints season opener. Kaeding will hit the dirt quarter-mile aboard the Werbach Motorsports #20.

2011 champion Ronnie Day of Salinas underwent back surgery on Wednesday and is unlikely to return to action for much of the remaining season. Day had asserted himself as high as second in the standings this year after three wins in the #22 Keith Day Trucking ride.

Another driver expected to make a splash on Friday night is Tommy Tarlton’s nephew Carson Macedo. Macedo has a win this year at Ocean Speedway Chowchilla in his rookie Sprint Car campaign and finished sixth in the last race after coming from 14th starting position.

Other regular Ocean Sprints competitors expected on Friday night include Gilroy’s Kurt Nelson, San Martin’s “Cowboy” Craig Smith, San Jose’s Ryan Rusconi, Salinas’ Carter Train, San Jose’s Wayne Katen, Corralitos’ Jerry Bonnema, and Petaluma’s Jason Toft.

Friday’s races for the Ocean Sprints will also include racing for the Wingless Sprints, Four Bangers, American Stocks, and Micro 600s. Adult tickets are just $17 with seniors 65+ $15 and kids ages 6-12 are $13. The family pass for two adults and two children is value priced at just $55. Qualifying will get underway at 6 p.m. with fan gates opening at 4:30 p.m.

For more information on the Ocean Sprint Cars presented by Taco Bravo log onto http://www.oceansprints.com and for more on the Ocean Speedway visit http://www.oceanspeedway.com

Ocean Speedway would like to thank Taco Bravo, Digital Delivery Networks, Get Som Sports, Ray Scheidt’s Electric, Hoosier Tires West, and Kaeding Performance for their support of the 2012 Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo.