USAC National Sprint Car Series logo 2012 united states auto club

By Dick Jordan

Only six points separate AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car point leaders Jon Stanbrough and Levi Jones as they prepare for the point-rich August 23-25 “Sprint Car Smackdown,” three consecutive nights of intense competition at the Kokomo, Ind. Speedway

Stanbrough, of Avon, Ind., finished second and 10th in two point-paying events this past week, while Jones, of Olney, Ill. was fourth and ninth in those two races.

Dave Darland of Lincoln, Ind. threw his hat in the ring as well with his Saturday night victory at Hartford (Mich.) Speedway. He now trails Jones by 93 points, third in the standings.

Darland took the lead on lap 11 at Hartford and led the final 20 laps in the Jeff Walker Racing Jam-It-In Storage/Hoosier Tire Maxim/Claxton. Stanbrough was second ahead of Robert Ballou, Jones and Chase Stockon. Jerry Coons Jr. led the first 10 laps.

Kyle Larson of Elk Grove, Calif. swept a pair of victories at Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa, Iowa last Monday and Tuesday in the Dynamics, Inc. Mean Green/Mopar Chalk/Stanton Mopar. He led all 20 laps of Monday’s “non-point” special event, beating Darland, Ballou, Brady Bacon and Jones. Tuesday’s “Casey’s General Stores Ultimate Challenge” found Larson leading the last 23 laps for the win over Darland, Justin Grant, Chris Windom and Coons. Grant led the first seven laps. The Tuesday victory was worth a whopping $15,000 to the Dynamics team, which celebrated its 80th USAC National Sprint car victory.

Rain forced postponement of Friday’s race at I-96 Speedway and the event has been rescheduled for Sunday, October 14.


1-Jon Stanbrough-1,505, 2-Levi Jones-1,499; 3-Dave Darland-1,406, 4-Bryan Clauson-1,298, 5-Damion Gardner-1,222, 6-Tracy Hines-1,195, 7-Robert Ballou-1,157, 8-Chase Stockon-1,147, 9-Kevin Thomas Jr.-1,137, 10-Hunter Schuerenberg-1,105.