Badger announces 22-race slate for 2013

From Bryan Gapinski

Sun Prairie, WI — (December 10, 2012) — Officials of the Badger Midget Auto Racing Association (BMARA) released a twenty-two race schedule for the 2013 racing season, today. It will  mark the 77th year of sanctioning midget auto racing, for the country’s oldest midget auto racing organization. The Stark Automotive Group/Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Series will contest events at eight tracks in Wisconsin and Illinois.

        Sun Prairie’s Angell Park Speedway continues as the cornerstone of the series, with eleven races slated at the famed 1/3-mile facility, with new track promoter Kenny Brown. Among the Angell Park highlights include: expansion of the “Pepsi Midget Nationals” to a two-day event on Aug. 31 and Sep.1; a Memorial Day weekend doubleheader; and “The 77th Anniversary Race” on July 14, those events will be co-sanctioned with the Lucas Oil POWRi National Midget Series. “The Cornfest Midget Classic”  will tri- sanctioned by USAC, Bager and POWRi on Aug. 18, along with the June 23 event. The Angell Park season kickoffs on Sunday Night May 19.
       The Wilmot (Wis.) Speedway will host “The 7th annual Salute to Harry Turner” on July 13, a co-sanctioned event with POWRi and return for a second date on Aug. 10. Badger will co-sanction nine events in Illinois with POWRi at six different tracks, including the four-day Illinois Midget Week events June 6-9.  Remainingl events will be announced shortly.
The Badger 600 Micro Series will run all eleven events at Angell Park Speedway, along with both Wilmot Speedway races. Additional stand-alone races for the Micro’s will be announced in early January.
2013 Schedule
Sun. May 19         Angell Park Speedway (Sun Prairie, Wis.)
Sat. May 25         Angell Park Speedway*
Sun.May 26         Angell Park Speedway*
Thu. June 6          Jacksonville Speedway (Jacksonville, Ill.)*
Fri. June 7             Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway*
Sat. June 8           Macon (Ill.) Speedway*
Sun June 9        Danville (Ill.) Speedway*
Sat. June 22          Peoria (Ill.) Speedway*
Sun. June 23        Angell Park Speedway**
Sun. June 30        Angell Park Speedway
Fri. July 5       Belle-Claire Speedway (Belleville, Ill.)**
Sat. July 6       Belle-Claire Speedway (Belleville, Ill.)**
Sat. July 13          Wilmot (Wis.) Raceway*
Sun. July 14         Angell Park Speedway*
Sun. July 28         Angell Park Speedway
Sun. Aug. 4         Angell Park Speedway
Sat. Aug. 10        Wilmot Raceway
Fri.. Aug. 16         Macon Speedway*
Sat. Aug. 17         Lincoln Speedway*
Sun. Aug. 18       Angell Park Speedway**
Sat. Aug. 31       Angell Park Speedway*
Sat. Sep. 1          Angell Park Speedway*  (raindate: Sep. 2)
*=co-sanction with POWRi
**=co-sanction with USAC Nat’l, & POWRi