Dietrich Wins at Susquehanna

Danny Dietrich
Danny Dietrich. - Rick Rarer / Photo

From Todd Fisher

Susquehanna, PA — (May 12, 2013) — Gettysburg’s Danny Dietrich took the victory in the Inaugural Mother’s Day Special at the Susquehanna Speedway Park on Sunday night. Randy Stoudt of Pottstown collected the feature win in the Late Model 25-lapper.

By virtue of an inversion of six from their heat race finishes, Danny Dietrich and Mark Smith started on the front row and brought the 25-car field to the green. Mark Smith took the early lead over Dietrich with Blaine Heimbach and Brent Marks following the leaders. As the two lead cars entered lapped traffic, Dietrich took the top spot away from Smith on lap 11. Smith never gave up easily as he stayed on Dietrich’s. Meanwhile, Marks moved closer to make it a three car battle for the top spot. With two laps to go, the yellow was displayed for the first time as Jacob Allen slowed in turn four setting up a two-lap shoot-out for the win. On the restart, Dietrich continued to lead to the finish, taking his first career SSP win. Smith settled for second followed by Marks in third. Fred Rahmer ran strong in fourth with Jason Leffler rounding out the top five. Heat race wins went to Rahmer, Marks and Leffler.

In the 25-lap Late Model night cap, Randy Stoudt took the lead from the pole position. Justin Ehrhart moved in behind Stoudt. Meanwhile Gene Knaub began moving up from his seventh place starting spot and took the runner-up spot midway through the race. He began to set his sights on the leader. On lap 19, a caution flag put Knaub on the rear bumper of Stoudt. On the restart, Stoudt continued to lead as he moved from the top groove to the bottom, where Kanub made his way through the pack. Knaub tried the top but was not as fast as he was low. Stoudt held on for the second consecutive victory with Knaub in second. Ehrhart finished third with Chase Billet and Larry Baer rounding out the top five. Kyle Martin was the JR’s Paving Hard Charger for the third consecutive race moving from 16th to 7th spot. Chase Billet, Steve Billet and Gene Knaub were the heat race winners. Ron Coleman won the last chance consolation race.

Racing action returns to the Big Track at SSP on Saturday night, May 18, when the Steel Block Bandits Late Model Series make its first of three visits to the Newberrytown oval. The feature winner will earn $1,500. Joining the Late Models will be the Street Stocks, Xtreme Stock Cars and the Sidewinder Sprints.

The Super 410 Sprint Cars will return to SSP on Father’s Day, Sunday, June 16 for the 6th Annual Sprint Car Summer Classic. The 358 Sprint Cars will also be on the racing card. The start time has been changed from 6:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m. for the event.

The Susquehanna Speedway Park is located off I-83 to exit 32, then 1.4 miles NW on SR382 to York Road, then 1.3 miles south. For more information, contact the speedway offices at (717) 292-1696 or visit online at On raceday, use the track phone at (717) 938-9170 for up-to-date information at the “Big Track” and the “Outback Track.”

Susquehanna Speedway Park Race Results from Sunday, May 12, 2013

Super 410 Sprint Cars Feature (25 laps): 1. Danny Dietrich; 2. Mark Smith; 3. Brent Marks; 4. Fred Rahmer; 5. Jason Leffler; 6. Logan Schuchart; 7. Blaine Heimbach; 8. Don Kreitz Jr.; 9. Greg Hodnett; 10. Glenndon Forsythe; 11. Lance Dewease; 12. Alan Krimes; 13. Tony Stewart; 14. Aaron Ott; 15. Ryan Smith; 16. Kyle Moody; 17. Billy Dietrich; 18. Jordan Mackison; 19. Daniel Mazy; 20. Jacob Allen; 21. Nicole Bower; DNS – Matt Boland; Will Rose; Kevin Nagy.

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Smith (1-10); D. Dietrich (11-25).

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Rahmer; Marks and Rahmer.