USAC National Sprint Car Series Logo 2013From Dick Jordan

Fireworks are sure to be on tap July 4 when the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Cars resume the 2013 campaign at Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville, Ind.

Brady Bacon of Broken Arrow, Okla. enters the Putnamville race third in the latest series points after winning Saturday night’s 30-lap race at I-96 Speedway in Lake Odessa, Mich. The race was the first for USAC Sprints at the track in 17 years as Bacon presented car owners Dynamics, Inc. with their all-time record 82nd feature victory!

Trailing Bacon’s Mean Green/Lykins Oil Triple X/Stanton Mopar were Bryan Clauson, who led six laps of the race, Tracy Hines, point leader Dave Darland and Robert Ballou.

Kevin Thomas, who led eight laps at I-96, posted the fastest qualifying time for Friday’s “Tony Hulman Classic” before rains washed out the remainder of the event. The race will now be part of the August 31 Terre Haute program, re-titled the “Tony Hulman/Jim Hurtubise Classic.”

2013 AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Point Standings: 1-Dave Darland-756; 2-Bryan Clauson-725; 3-Brady Bacon-715; 4-Kevin Thomas-704, 5-Chase Stockon-704; 6-Hunter Schuerenberg-670; 7-Tracy Hines-659; 8-Robert Ballou-633; 9-Shane Cottle-464; 10-Tyler Courtney-427.