Windom Wins the Sheldon Kinser Memorial

2013 Bloomington Speedway Logo tease



Bloomington, IN — (July 5, 2013) — Chris Windom once again proved his mastery of  the red clay banks of the Bloomington Speedway in winning Friday night’s Sheldon Kinser Memorial Race.  It was the 25th running of the event and it paid $5,000 to win.  Windom was at the wheel of the Jeff Walker Racing Maxim Sprinter sponsored by Hoosier Tire, Jam It In Storage, and Super Shox.  In winning Windom joined an elite group of only four sprint car drivers who have been repeat winners of one of Hoosierland’s most enduring sprint car races.  Windom also won the Sheldon Kinser Memorial in 2011.

As Windom took command of the 30 lap feature in a sprint to the finish, a duel was waged behind him for second place.  Kyle Cummins would use every inch of the speedway in working his way around Jon Stanbrough.  The two traded positions with  Cummins holding claim to the runner-up spot from lap 24 on.   Stanbrough would finish third. Robert Ballou and Dave Darland turned in equally steady performances in rounding out the top five positions.

Chase Briscoe finished sixth in the feature ahead of track points leader Brady Short, Ethan Barrow, Chase Stockon, and current MSCS Points leader Kevin Thomas Jr.  Briscoe was among 5 drivers who started the feature at midfield or further back and continued to move up.  Brady Short had used an MSCS provisional spot to start the event.  He had been black flagged after an incident in the fourth heat and then failed to advance enough spots in the B to transfer to the feature.  However after starting 21st in the A, he advanced all the way up to seventh thus earning the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race. \

Rookie driver Bradley Sterrett was just outside the top ten at the finish.  He was presented with the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award  for his eleventh place finish.  Carson Short, who is another MSCS rookie this year, finished third in the second B Main thus missing the feature transfer by just one spot.  Brandon Mattox won the first B Main and Casey Shuman took the second B.

Thirty six drivers registered to compete in this year’s Sheldon Kinser Memorial.  The four heat races were won by Jon Stanbrough, Bradley Sterrett, Kevin Thomas Jr., and Hunter Schuerenberg.  Chris Windom earned the most passing points during the heats with a third place finish after starting ninth in heat four.  Windom raced hard and  capitalized on the MSCS Passing Points System by turning the worst pill draw at registration into an outside pole starting position for the feature.

MSCS will be idle for the next three weekends and then resume racing on Saturday August 3rd with the annual Hoosier Sprint Nationals at Tri-State Speedway.  That race will signal the beginning of the second half of the season.  It will also pay $5,000 to win.


2013 Sheldon Kinser Memorial Feature:
1. Chris Windom
2. Kyle Cummins
3. Jon Stanbrough
4. Robert Ballou
5. Dave Darland
6. Chase Briscoe
7. Brady Short
8. Ethan Barrow
9. Chase Stockon
10. Kevin Thomas, Jr.
11. Bradley Sterrett
12. Casey Shuman
13. Aaron Farney
14. Shane Cottle
15. Dakota Jackson
16. Hunter Schuerenberg
17. Jordan Kinser
18. Matt Westfall
19. Bobby East
20. Nick Bilbee
21. Brandon Mattox