Hodnett and Smith Win at Williams Grove Speedway

Mechanicsburg, PA — (August 2, 2013) — Greg Hodnett and Mark Smith were victorious Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway.  Hodnett won the 410 sprint car feature while Smith won the United Racing Company Rislone Nationals main event.

From a twelfth place starting position, Smith of Tower City, PA  and his Mach 1 Chassis 360 sprint car  powered to the front of the pack then a caution on lap nineteen opened the door of opportunity.   With a double-file restart, Smith took the high lane to pass race leader JJ Grasso and went on to win the 8th Annual Rislone Nationals Friday night at the Williams Grove Speedway.     For Smith, the victory in the 25 lap Rislone Nationals   was worth $4,000.     In the final five laps, Pat Cannon moved into second with Ryan Bohlke making a late race run to finish third.  Making up the top five were JJ Grasso and Kevin Nouse.  For Mark Smith, it was his first URC win of the season and his fourth career win.


A field of thirty-six 358/360 sprints took part in the program with heat race victories going to  Dave Betts, Jonathan Swanson,  JJ Grasso, and Kevin Nouse as Aaron Ott won the “B” Main


In the 25 lap Rislone Nationals, JJ Grasso led the first lap with the red flag being displayed for Aaron Ott and Eric Riggins who flipped in turn three with Chad Trout also making contact.  All drivers walked away uninjured.


On the restart, Grasso driving the Ken Eldreth Construction sprinter set the pace followed by Ed Aikin, Dave Betts and Kevin Nouse.  With a burst of speed, Nouse was on the move, advancing to second by lap five.   Josh Weller was also on a charge,  also racing in the top five.   Mark Smith and his Mach 1 Chassis moved into fifth  on lap seven  and fourth by lap nine.   Smith kept coming and advanced to third on lap eleven.


At the halfway point of the race, Grasso was leading with Smith trying to chase him down as Nouse, Cannon and Weller made up the top five.   Grasso managed to hold a solid lead until lap nineteen when Kramer Williamson came to a stop on the backstretch.


For URC, this set—up a double file restart giving the race leader the choice of lanes.   Grasso took the inside position with Smith on the outside.   At the drop of the green to restart the race,  Smith took the lead entering turn one.  Grasso fought back only to have Smith pull ahead once and for all.    Now Pat Cannon was coming, moving into second on lap twenty-one with Grasso  third and Ryan Bohlke fourth.


Smith took the win with Pat Cannon second, Ryan Bohlke third, JJ Grasso fourth and Kevin Nouse fifth.


FEATURE FINISH:  Mark Smith,  Pat Cannon, Ryan Bohlke, JJ Grasso,  Kevin Nouse, Josh Weller, Tyler Ross,  Davie Franek, Brian Carber, Ed Aikin, Randy West, Ryan Wilson, Jonathan Swanson,  Jay Gallaway,  Andy Best, Billy Johns,  Kramer Williamson,   Duane Mausteller,  Dan Mazy, Scott Lutz,  Chris Arnold,  Chad Trout,  Aaron Ott,  Eric Riggins.  DNQ  Art Liedl, JR Berry, Chandler Leiby, Dave Ely,  Billy Pauch Jr.,  Joe Zuczek, Glendon Forsythe, Denny Garl, Deith Prutzman, Brock Zearfoss,  Aaron Eichellberger.

Fred’s Trailer Parts Hard Charger Tyler Ross  advanced 16 spots

Fast Time of the Night- – JJ Grasso

URC Bonus Money:  Top three highest URC finishers:  $500 – -Ryan Bohlke, $300 JJ Grasso, $200 Josh Weller.