Berryman Wins Feature and Buckeye Sprint Series Championship

bss buckeye super sprint series tease

From Bob Stascak

Sandusky, OH — (August 17, 2013) —  The 2013 Pie Factory Buckeye Super Sprint (BSS) Season Championship points battle came down to the final night of their season on Saturday August 17, 2013 at Sandusky Speedway. After leading the points battle for most of the season, Talon Stephens found himself tied for the points lead with Doug Berryman. Last Saturday nights show here at Sandusky Speedway saw Berryman the winner of the 30 lap BSS feature.


In tonights BSS preliminary events it was Doug Berryman the fast qualifier with a time of  15.574. Talon Stephens was second fastest with a time of 15.814. The winner of the heat race was Berryman with Stephens finishing fifth. The stage would now be set for what would be a barn burner of a feature race.


The unofficial points tally had Berryman leading going into the twenty five lap feature by only five points. Adam Biltz and Frank Neill paced the field to the green flag with Neill taking the lead from his outside pole starting position. Kevin Mingus who started third was runner up followed by Biltz, Doug Berryman who started last and Todd Buchanan the top five running order. On the third lap the running order was Neill, Mingus, Berryman, Buchanan and Stephens. Berryman would get past Mingus on lap five for second and was closing in on Neill for the lead. Berryman took the lead on the backstraight on lap six and was followed by Neill, Mingus, Buchanan and Stephens. Mingus moved into second on lap nine and gave chase to  Berryman.


At the halfway mark it was Berryman, Mingus, Buchanan, Stephens and Neill the top five. With ten laps remaining Berryman and Mingus would have over a half straightaway advantage over third place Buchanan. On lap twenty two Stephens would move into third place but it was too little too late as Doug Berryman held on to take the checkered flag as Mingus was gaining on the leader in the closing laps. Doug Berryman is the 2013 Pie Factory Buckeye Super Sprints Champion.



The Pie Factory Buckeye Super Sprints (BSS)

Fast Qualifier – Doug Berryman (Bascom) 15.574


Heat # 1 – Berryman; Frank Neill (Vickery); Brian Gibbs; Todd Buchanan (Marblehead); Talon Stephens (Ravenna); Kevin Mingus (Huron); Adam Biltz


Feature (25 laps) – Berryman; Mingus; Stephens; Buchanan; Neill; Gibbs; Biltz