By Steven Blakesley
WATSONVILLE, CALIFORNIA (September 25, 2013) – After a one month break following the $10,000 to win Johnny Key Classic, the Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo roar back to life on Friday night at John Prentice’s Ocean Speedway Watsonville.  Friday’s races will kick off three consecutive Friday nights of racing before a champion is crowned on October 11th.
ocean Speedway
Brad Furr of Stockton has been the best of the field of competitors on the Santa Cruz County Fairgrounds dirt track all year long, but his last win of the year came in late June.  Since that victory, race wins have been claimed by a cast of characters including Bud Kaeding, Kyle Hirst, DJ Netto, and Justin Sanders.  Rico Abreu made the most of his first Ocean Sprints start with a last lap win in the Johnny Key Classic in August.

Gilroy’s Kurt Nelson finished 17th on an opening night where Furr won the feature, but since giving up that 20 point advantage has only surrendered an additional 18 points total.  Just 38 points behind, Nelson is still in striking distance of the championship.

Salinas’ Jeremy Chisum leads a tightly wound pack throughout the top-ten in the standings, ahead of three-time feature winner Bud Kaeding, San Jose’s Ryan Rusconi, leading rookie Nick Foster, Jr., Jason Chisum, and Fresno’s Koen Shaw in eighth.

2012 Ocean Sprints champion Shane Golobic, a San Jose State engineering student, ranks ninth with Nick Rescino, Jr. tenth.  Other regulars have included Pleasanton rookie Nathan Washam and Morgan Hill’s Nicholas Ringo.

Friday’s races for the Ocean Sprints also includes American Stocks, IMCA Sport Mods, and Wingless Sprints.  Adult tickets are just $17 with seniors 65+ $16 and kids ages 6-12 are $15.  The family pass for two adults and two children is value priced at just $55.  Qualifying will get underway at 6 p.m.

For more information on the Ocean Sprints log onto http://www.oceansprints.com and for more on the Ocean Speedway visit http://www.oceanspeedway.com

Ocean Speedway would like to thank Taco Bravo, Digital Delivery Networks, Nobel Construction, Get Som Sports, Ray Scheidt’s Electric, Hoosier Tires West, and Kaeding Performance for their support.