Brad Haudenschild Wins at Wayne County

From Mike Swanger

Orrville, OH — (April 26, 2014) — Although the temperature was cool, the racing was  hot on the smooth and tacky surface of NAPA Wayne County Speedway on Fan  Appreciation night presented by VP Fuels. Rob Cheney started on the pole of the  Fisher Performance Sprint feature with Jordan Harble along side. Those two would  run one-two for the opening six laps of the feature with 4th starting Brad  Haudenschild from Millersburg, Broc Martin and Mitch Harble in the top five.  Martin would spin in turn four at the end of lap six to bring out the caution.  Haudenschild would power past Jordan Harble on the restart as Andre Layfield  took over fifth behind the Harble’s. Jordan’s run at a top five ended when he  spun on lap 11 to bring out the second of two caution. As the green flag  reappeared, it became apparent that it was going to be a two car race for the  checker flag as the two heat winners, Chaney and Haudenschild, pulled away from  the rest of the field. Driving the Kempthorn Auto Mall and Medi Taxi #38k, Brad  finally slipped past Chaney on lap 17 after the pair had went side by side for  the two previous laps. Haudenschild then pulled away to claim the win as Chaney  held on to second with 10th starting Layfield collecting third with Mitch Harble  grabbing fourth and Shawn Hubler finishing fifth. Broc Martin was fast qualifier  at 14.947.

Brad Malcuit took the lead at the drop of the green  flag from the outside pole of the Lias Tire Late Model main and then he quickly  had fast qualifier Doug Drown pestering him for the lead with Matt Irey right  with them. Malcuit and Drown swapped the lead several times before Drown took  over on lap nine and began to pull away. Three laps later though, bearing down  on the back of the field, Drown could not avoid a couple of spinning cars and  made contact and messed up the front of his car and that ended his night. On the  restart, a multi car pile up coming out of turn four, wiped out four cars.  Ashland’s Ryan Markham had just edged past Irey for second and he and Malcuit  would go tire to tire for the lead but the crowd was on it’s feet as late  arriving and 18th starting JR Gentry flew into third on lap 14 and made it a  three car race. With three laps to go, Markham and his H&T Demolition, Fultz  Fabrication and Accu Shock #5m, went to the highside and captured the lead for  good over Malcuit while on the next lap Gentry jumped the cushion in turn one,  and broke his ride and a chance at the win. Shane McLoughlin, who was in the top  five all race long came home third while 11th starting DJ Miller was fourth and  while Charlie Duncan came back from a flat tire and a trip to the pits on that  big wreck, grabbing fifth.Celebrating his 50th year of racing, Blaine Aber  finished sixth. Drown, Garrett Krummert and Malcuit topped the heat  races

Medina’s Larry Baldwin went flag to flag for the  Thrifty Muffler Super Stock win. Driving the 7UP, Midas Muffler and Baldwin  Motorsports car, Baldwin held off an early challenge from Nick Smith and then  after a lap three caution, withstood Brandon Gardner’s charge and then cruised  to more than a half straightaway victory. Gardner and Smith trailed as Chase  Alexander came from starting 7th to take fourth as Mitch Caskey filled out the  top five. Caskey, Baldwin and Gardner posted the heat wins, while Bob Daugherty  set fast time but mechanical woes prevented him from starting both the heat and  feature. Baldwin Motorsports will give a $100 bonus every night to the finisher  of a pill draw that will be drawn by a fan after the feature. Whatever number  that is drawn, the driver finishing in that position will receive the bonus  money and last night it was #11 and Tyler Thompson was the winner of the  bonus.

With two laps to go, Wooster’s Brad Hensel and his  Sportsman Bar and DJ’s Directional Services #28 squeezed past race long leader  Billy Parsons to win the WQKT Mini Stock feature. Brad and Doug Hensel along  with Jason Shaw all were changing positions all race long behind Parsons until  the last two laps when Brad Hensel made his move for the win as Shaw would  finish third with Doug Hensel in fourth followed by Adam Kern. Shaw and Parsons  won the heat races.

Braxton Wilson of Coshocton swept the NAPA Auto  Parts Mini Wedge action as he won the heat race and then held off Tanner  McLoughlin all race long for the feature win. Lucas Thomas, Billy Dawson and Zoe  Stafford rounded out the top five.

Next Saturday, May 3rd, the NAPA WCS/Attica Raceway  Park Late Model Series will be the headline race with all class’ in action also.  The Fisher Performance Sprints will also run a Crack The Whip race. It will also  be Kid’s Night and Fans will receive $2 off general admission if they bring a  receipt of purchase form a NAPA Wayne County Speedway sponsor.


Saturday, April 26, 2014


Fast Qualifier  Broc Martin    14.947

Saldana Racing Products Heat 1   Brad  Haudenschild, Shawn Hubler, Broc Martin, Jordan Harble, Jess Stiger, Jimmy  Pooler, Danny Mumaw, Scott Riley, Matt Phillips

Saldana Racing Products Heat 2   Rob  Chaney, Jason Dolick, Mitch Harble, Jamie Myers, Andre Layfield, Nick Patterson,  Troy Kingan, Butch Beasley

Feature   Brad Haudenschild, Rob Chaney,  Andre Layfield, Mitch Harble, Shawn Hubler, Broc Martin, Danny Mumaw, Jason  Dolick, Jimmy Pooler, Jordan Harble, Nick Patterson, Troy Kingan, Butch Beasley,  Scott Riley, Jess Stiger, Janie Myers, Matt Phillips (dns)


Fast Qualifier   Doug Drown    16.789

Summit Racing Equipment Heat 1   Doug  Drown, Mike Bores, Shane McLoughlin, Don Conley, Blaine Aber, Steve White, Cody  Scott, Jeremy Canada

Summit Racing Equipment Heat 2   Garrett  Krummert, Ryan Markham, Larry Bellman, DJ Miller, David Liles, Jerry Aber, Coby  Bartram

Summit Racing Equipment Heat 3   Brad  Malcuit, Charlie Duncan, Matt Irey, Justin Chance, Ben Mott, Allan Baker (dns),  Jim Nicely (dns)

Feature   Ryan Markham, Brad Malcuit,  Shane McLoughlin, DJ Miller, Charlie Duncan, Blaine Aber, JR, Gentry, Garrett  Krummert, Matt Irey, Steve White, David Liles, Doug Drown, Mike Bores, Larry  Bellman, Jeremy Canada, Cody Scott, Jerry Aber, Ben Mott, Justin Chance, Don  Conley, Coby Bartram (dns), Allan Baker (dns), Jim Nicely (dns)


Fast Qualifier   Bob Daugherty    20.037

Summit Racing Equipment Heat 1   Mich  Caskey, Chase Alexander, Chris Albright, Tyler Nicely, Chaz O’Dell, Bob Fry, Bob  Daugherty (dns)

Summit Racing Equipment Heat 2   Larry  Baldwin, Paul Whitten, Dennis Amstutz, Brad Eagle, Paul McVickers, Dave Sampsel,  David Uhler

Summit Racing Equipment Heat 3   Brandon  Gardner, Nick Smith, Brad Channel, Chris Gibbs, Tyler Thompson, Jeremy  Lynch

Feature   Larry Baldwin, Brandon Gardner,  Nick Smith, Chase Alexander, Mitch Caskey, Brad Channel, Tyler Nicely, Paul  Whitten, Brad Eagle, Dennis Amstutz, Tyler Thompson, Chaz O’Dell, Bob Fry, Paul  McVicker, Chris Albright, Dave Sampsel, Chris Gibbs, David Uhler, Bob Daugherty  (dns), Jeremy Lynch (dns)


Heat  1   Jason Shaw, Brad Hensel,  Tim Justice, Lester Berry, Jason Large, Mitch Reichard, Josh Peebles

Heat  2   Billy Parsons, Greg  Thompson, Doug Hensel, Paul Kern, Adam Kern, Randy Gibson, #311

Feature  Brad Hensel, Billy Parsons, Jason  Shaw, Doug Hensel, Adam Kern, Lester Berry, Jason Large, Tim Justice, Josh  Peebles, Paul Kern, Mitch Reichard, Greg Thompson (dns), Randy Gibson (dns),  #311 (dns)


Heat  1   Braxton Wilson, Billy  Dawson, Robbie Ledger, Tanner McLoughlin, Lucas Thomas, Caitlyn Johnson, Zoe  Stafford, Matthew Moore

Feature  Braxton Wilson, Tanner McLoughlin,  Lucas Thomas, Billy Dawson, Zoe Stafford, Caitlyn Johnson, Robbie Ledger,  Matthew Moore