Lawrenceburg Speedway Hosts KISS Tour Saturday

kiss King of Indiana Sprint Series

kiss King of Indiana Sprint SeriesFrom Mike O’Leary

Lawrenceburg, IN — (May 13, 2014) — The next stop of the King of Indiana Sprint Series will be at Lawrenceburg’s speed palace in the Southeastern corner of the Hoosier state this coming Saturday.  With a pair of victories in the series’ first two races, Shane Cottle comes into the event with a narrow 15-point lead over defending champion Brady Short, but can he keep it?

Kokomo’s Shane Cottle admits that he would very much like to earn a KISS championship.  But the next step is the ultra-quick Lawrenceburg Speedway, one of the ovals where Cottle doesn’t have a KISS win.  When he won at Bloomington, it was his first win there, and when he took the victory at Kokomo Speedway, he became the first driver to score more than one KISS win at that track.  If he wins Saturday’s Lawrenceburg round, it will give him a total of six, and a nice cushion toward his goal.

Thus far this year, Logan Hupp has won twice at Lawrenceburg, Kevin Thomas Jr. and Justin Grant, once each.  Short is just as motivated to earn a third KISS title and he has captured a KISS win there (2010).  Without a doubt, Short, the Bedford shoe, and Cottle have been the hottest drivers in local sprint car racing this spring.  But the KISS series allows the best drivers at each track to take on all comers and this could be a showcase for a strong team like that of Columbus’ Hupp.   Others to keep an eye on include Thomas, and Jerry Coons Jr., neither of which has won in KISS competition, with all of their success.

The event will provide the third round of KISS competition, following rainouts at the Terre Haute Action Track and Gas City I-69 Speedway.  Both of those events may yet be rescheduled as the promoters are working through different scenarios.  The 30-lap KISS main event will pay $2,500 to win and $250 to start.  The point fund is a total of $4,200, with the series champion earning $1,200.  Second in points will collect $900, and third through fifth will receive $800, $700 and $600.

The front gate opens at 5:00 pm and pit gate at 4:00.  Hot laps begin at 6:00 and opening ceremonies at 7:00.  General admission is $20, youths 7 – 12 are just $7, and 6 and under are free with a paying adult.  All pit passes are $30.  In a special promotion, all with a 47025 zip code get free admission from the City of Lawrenceburg.  The racing program includes UMP modifieds and hornets.  For more information, visit the Speedway website at

KISS Points after Round 2: 1. Shane Cottle 360, 2. Brady Short 345, 3. Jerry Coons Jr. 340, 4. Kevin Thomas Jr. 321, 5. Robert Ballou 304, 6. Dalten Gabbard 292, 7. Chad Boespflug 270, 8. Gary Taylor 266, 9. Aaron Farney 237, 10. Lee Dakus 190


April 27    Terre Haute Action Track    – Rain
May 2     Bloomington Speedway – Shane Cottle
May 4        Kokomo Speedway – Shane Cottle
May 9        Gas City I-69 Speedway – Rain
May 17     Lawrenceburg Speedway
May 25    Tri-State Speedway
May 31    Paragon Speedway

Public Relations Contact: Mike O’Leary Phone: 812-400-0021