Hurricane Hits Butler for Feature Victory

Randy Hannagan in victory lane at Butler Motor Speedway. - Tom Willavize Photo
Randy Hannagan in victory lane at Butler Motor Speedway. - Tom Willavize Photo
Randy Hannagan in victory lane at Butler Motor Speedway. – Tom Willavize Photo

By Bob Buffenbarger

Quincy,Mi. (June 14th, 2014)- Randy Hannagan dominated the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP co sanctioned with the National Racing Alliance, 25 lap feature at Butler Motor Speedway Saturday night after starting on the pole.

Chase Ridenour started along side Hannagan and this duo quickly left the pack behind, however four laps in Troy Chehowski brought out the first caution. As the green waved again, Hannagan rocketed out to the lead with Ridenour, Max Stambaugh, J.R. Stewart, Doug Zimmerman and Brett Mann falling in line.

The order remained the same when lap 11 saw Chehowski bring out another yellow, ending his night. Jared Horstman who started 10th now had tagged the pack and by the 15th circuit he was in 5th.

The red appeared on lap 16 after Mark Aldrich pulled to the infield with flames in the rear end of his car. The fire crew quickly extinguished the fire without injury. Once more Hannagan jumped out to a comfortable lead as the green came out.

Behind the leader, Ridenour was continuing a very strong run with Stambaugh making several attempts to make a pass for 2nd but Ridenour would have none of it. J.R. Stewart was right on his team mate (Stambaugh) during all the action waiting for any opening and now Horstman was lurking and waiting for an opportunity.

As the laps were winding down, Hannagan had stretched his lead with three cars still battling for position and on the final lap, Stambaugh was able to slide under Ridenour in turn four taking 2nd with Stewart, Horstman and Trey Smith rounding out the top five.

Heat races for the 34 cars on hand were won by J.R. Stewart, Doug Zimmerman, Gregg Dalman and Chase Ridenour. B mains went to Ryan Ruhl and Shawn Dancer. The Dash win was picked up by Hud Horton.

Tonight’s full moon reared it’s ugly head on an otherwise beautiful evening as heat two found Dustin Stroup tangling with Gavin Hunyady with Hunyady going for a tumble and Stroup ending on his side. Neither driver was hurt.

Heat three got off to a scary start as several cars got together at the start with Butch Schroeder going over a wheel and nearly going over after getting some serious airtime. At the same time Mike Burns flipped in turn two. Once again all drivers were okay.

The next Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP event will be June 28th at Merritt Speedway.

Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP
Butler Motor Speedway-Quincy,Mi.
Saturday June 14th, 2014

Hoosier Racing Tire Heat Race #1 (8 Laps): 1.J.R. Stewart, 2. Max Stambaugh, 3. Brett Mann, 4. Mark Aldrich, 5. Trey Smith, 6. Jay Steinbach, 7. Andy Chehowski, 8. Eric Smith, 9. Tank Brakenberry

All Star Performance / Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps):1. Doug Zimmerman, 2. Hud Horton, 3. Zane Devault, 4. Kyle Pitts, 5. Devon Dobie, 6. Gavin Hunyady, 7. Dustin Stroup, 8. Ralph Brakenberry

Speed Pro Heat Race #3 (8 Laps):1. Gregg Dalman, 2. Andy Chehowski, 3. Joe Geibe, 4. Mike Burns, 5. Ryan Ruhl, 6. Butch Schroeder, 7. Brad Lamberson

ARP Fastners Heat Race #4 (8 Laps): 1. Chase Ridenour, 2. Randy Hannagan, 3. Dustin Daggett, 4. Jared Horstman, 5. Shawn Dancer, 6. Chris Pobanz, 7. Jess Stiger

(Top 16 in passing points from the heat races transferred to the A-Main)

Engine Pro B-Main#1 (8 Laps): (First two finishers in the B-Main transfers to the A-Main) 1. Ryan Ruhl, 2. Jess Stiger, 3. Dustin Stroup, 4. Devon Dobie, 5. Chris Pobanz, 6. Eric Smith

Engine Pro B-Main#2 (8 Laps): (First two finishers in the B-Main transfers to the A-Main) 1. Shawn Dancer, 2. Jay Steinbach, 3. Andy Chehowski, 4. Tank Brakenberry, 5. Brad Lamberson

Nitro Black Dash (4 Laps): (Determined starting positions 9-12 in the A-Main) 1. Hud Horton,2. Jared Horstman, 3. Kyle Pitts, 4. Trey Smith


Engine Pro / ARP A-Main (25 Laps):1. Randy Hannagan, 2. Max Stambaugh, 3. Chase Ridenour, 4. J.R. Stewart, 5. Jared Horstman, 6. Trey Smith, 7. Hud Horton, 8. Ryan Ruhl, 9. Dustin Daggett, 10. Gregg Dalman, 11. Shawn Dancer, 12. Joe Geibe, 13. Jess Stiger, 14. Kyle Pitts, 15. Jay Steinbach, 16. Zane Devault, 17. Doug Zimmerman, 18. Mark Aldrich, 19. Troy Chehowski, 20. Bret Mann

Lap Leaders: Hannagan 1-25

Engine Pro Lucky Dog: Joe Geibe