Tankersley Wins Battleground and ASCS Gulf South Champoinship

Channin Tankersley (Serena Dalhamer photo)

Channin Tankersley (Serena Dalhamer photo)
Channin Tankersley (Serena Dalhamer photo)
From Bryan Hulbert

Highlands, TX — (September 27, 2014) — On a night filled with rain delays, the finale of the Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region managed to file itself into the pages of history as Channin Tankersley topped the night’s 25 lap feature, and in doing so claimed his first ASCS regional title.

Winning from sixth, Tankersley was chased to the finish by Travis Rilat with Caleb Martin taking the final podium step. Ray Allen Kulhanek settled for fourth with Klint Angelette from sixteenth to complete the top five.

A race of attrition due to the wet conditions, Kevin Ramey, John Pate, Mike Walling, Brandie Jass, and Andrew VanBlarcum completed the field.

The American Sprint Car Series congratulates Channin Tankersley and the Pearson Motorsports No. 11 on their 2014 championship, and thanks Griffith Truck and Equipment for their support during the 2014 season.

For continued updates on the American Sprint Car Series, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.

Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region
Battleground Speedway – Highlands, Texas
Saturday, September 27, 2014

Car Count: 24

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 11-Channin Tankersley; 2. 51-Caleb Martin; 3. 25M-Michael McNeil; 4. 57-Jacob Lucas; 5. 24-Brandie Jass; 6. 28-Tommy Bryant; 7. 36-John Pate; 8. 29-Mike Walling

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 5X-Tyson Hall; 2. 2-Wes Miller; 3. 29T-Travis Rilat; 4. 93-Chris Sweeney; 5. 45-Martin Edwards; 6. 19-Klint Angelette; 7. 28H-Mark Harris; 8. 53-Andrew VanBlarcum

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 5-Jimmy Brooks; 2. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 3. 15T-Travis Elliott; 4. 31-Brandon Berryman; 5. 55-Brad Queen; 6. 7M-Kevin Ramey; 7. 27-Steve Block; DNS 8-Bruce Crockett

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 11-Channin Tankersley[6]; 2. 29T-Travis Rilat[3]; 3. 51-Caleb Martin[4]; 4. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek[8]; 5. 19-Klint Angelette[16]; 6. 7M-Kevin Ramey[18]; 7. 36-John Pate[20]; 8. 29-Mike Walling[22]; 9. 24-Brandie Jass[15]; 10. 53-Andrew VanBlarcum[23]; 11. (DNF) 2-Wes Miller[2]; 12. (DNF) 15T-Travis Elliott[11]; 13. (DNF) 57-Jacob Lucas[12]; 14. (DNF) 45-Martin Edwards[14]; 15. (DNF) 28-Tommy Bryant[13]; 16. (DNF) 31-Brandon Berryman[10]; 17. (DNF) 8-Bruce Crockett[24]; 18. (DNF) 5X-Tyson Hall[5]; 19. (DNF) 55-Brad Queen[17]; 20. (DNF) 28H-Mark Harris[21]; 21. (DNF) 93-Chris Sweeney[9]; 22. (DNF) 27-Steve Block[19]; 23. (DNF) 25M-Michael McNeil[1]; 24. (DNF) 5-Jimmy Brooks[7]