From Eldon Butcher

Haubstadt, IN – (October 6, 2014) – The 2014 season is about to come to a close for race fans that attend Tri-State Speedway. The Harvest Cup set for Saturday night October 11th will finalize the schedule. The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series will headline a triple header that evening which will also include modified cars and mini sprints.

The MSCS Sprints will be racing for a $4,000 first place feature prize to top off their season winnings. The series has been very active this season. The feature for the Harvest Cup will be number 16. It has also been a very competitive season. Eight different drivers have won main events. Robert Ballou leads the list with three wins. Five drivers have a pair of wins. They are Hunter Schuerenberg, Jeff Bland Jr., Brady Short, Daron Clayton, and Kyle Cummins. Tyler Courtney and Jon Stanbrough have also visited victory lane.

The 2014 season has been one highlighted with hot streaks! Robert Ballou took three features in a row in a three week period at mid season. Jeff Bland Jr. had back to back victories Memorial Day Weekend. Brady Short had back to back wins in August beginning with the Hoosier Sprint Nationals. Daron Clayton won both MSCS and USAC co-sanctioned events which included the biggest payoff of the year at he Haubstadt Hustler. Hunter Schuerenberg won two of the first three races at the beginning of the season. Kyle Cummins has won two of the last four events held.

The Harvest Cup has two roles to play in that it is also the final event on the MSCS schedule and provides an opportunity for a race site celebration along with some great racing. It is customary to present the MSCS Championship trophies and the MSCS Rookie of the Year Award as part of the activity fans can share in and enjoy.

Kyle Cummins of Princeton, IN, will be receiving the Championship trophy for 2014. He locked up the title chase with his performance at the September 27th event at which he put together a perfect night in winning both his heat and the feature. He widened his point lead to 142 markers. He now ranks as the only four time champion for the MSCS series. Cummins was a rookie in the series in 2003 with his four titles accumulating over a twelve year MSCS driving career with his first being captured in 2007.

The MSCS Rookie of the Year honor is undecided going into the finals at the Harvest Cup. That opportunity is now only possible for two drivers. The Rookie of the Year will be either James Lyerla or Aaron Farney. Following the last event they were separated by a mere 25 points. Both have worked their way into the top ten in overall points. Lyerla is seventh and Farney eighth. Farney was fifth in the feature at the Fall Roundup and Lyerla tenth. If both drivers show up prepared and in top form the outcome will likely depend on the results of the feature.

Chase Stockon won the Harvest Cup to conclude both the 2013 and 2012 seasons. The other past winner was Jon Stanbrough in 2011. With several tracks having already closed for the season, additional drivers will have an opportunity to compete at this race.

The Harvest Cup has a 7:30 P.M. start time. Tri-State Speedway is in the Central Time Zone. Opening ceremonies begin 10 or 15 minutes earlier. Hot laps are at 6:30. Pit gates open at 3:30. Enjoy all the action. Racing also includes the UMP Open Wheel Modifieds who will be running for $1,000 to win plus the MMSA-MALS Lightning Mini Sprints.

Provided as News and Information for MSCS and Tri-State Speedway.


Updated on September 28, 2014

1) 3c Kyle Cummins 964
2) 28 Brandon Mattox 822
3) 11p Brady Short 816
4) 12 Robert Ballou 787
5) 21 Carson Short 734

6) 04 Jeff Bland Jr. 685
7) 11 James Lyerla 685
8) 15F Aaron Farney 660
9) 32 Chase Stockon 628
10) 92 Daron Clayton 610

11) 4c Daylan Chambers 571
12) 4B Donny Brackett 565
13) 90x Bradley Sterrett 545
14) 37rw Jon Stanbrough 524
15) 20n Hunter Schuerenberg 396

16) 38w Chet Williams 387
17) 3R Brian Karraker 347
18) 21k Casey Shuman 334
19) 10x Aric Gentry 315
20) 02 Nick Hale 297