Can locals defend home turf against Outlaws at Fremont?

Fremont Speedway Top Story Logo

fremontspeedwaylogoFrom Brian Liskai

Fremont, OH — (Tuesday, Oct. 14, 2014) — Donny Schatz is having the best season of his career. That’s hard to believe considering he is a five time World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series champion. But, the driver of the Tony Stewart Racing machine recently recorded his 25th series win of 2014 and has won five of the last eight Outlaw events as the touring group heads to Fremont Speedway Saturday, Oct. 18.

The World of Outlaws only have four more events – including Fremont – on the 2014 schedule. The Joe Stelter Memorial – honoring the man who began Fremont Speedway in 1951 as the first promoter – will pay $10,000 to win and is the season finale for the track. The show is also part of the Salute to the King, as the series bids farewell to 20 time World of Outlaws champion Steve Kinser. Fremont Speedway and its Hall of Fame plan a special tribute to Kinser.

Schatz defeated Fremont weekly drivers Caleb Griffith and Bryan Sebetto at “The Track that Action Built” last year. It was Schatz first career win at Fremont and the 21st World of Outlaws victory of 2013. It was the first appearance of the World of Outlaws at Fremont since 2011 when Jason Meyers scored the win. Prior to the 2011 race, the last time the Outlaws had been at Fremont was in 1993 with Stevie Smith taking the win. Frank Kerr won Outlaw events at Fremont in 1991 and 1992 with Doug Wolfgang winning the only other series event at the track in 1990.

In a related note, Kerr will be on hand Saturday at Fremont to sign autographs.

Fremont boasts of one of the strongest and most talented weekly 410 racing fields in the country so it’s no surprise the World of Outlaw drivers know they have their hands full. In fact, when the Outlaws visited nearby Attica earlier this year, it was the Ohio contingent of Dale Blaney, Craig Mintz and Dean Jacobs swept the podium and local fans feel that could happen again at Fremont.

Many feel Blaney, who recently wrapped up his fifth University of Northwestern Ohio All Star Circuit of Champions title and has 20 overall wins in 2014 – his best season ever – could defeat the World of Outlaws again at Fremont where he has won five times this year. Blaney has 24 career wins at Fremont.

Don’t count out 2014 Fremont champion Byron Reed. Reed, who now has five titles at Fremont, has 26 career wins at the track, though winless in 2014. Also, Brian Lay, Griffith and Mintz each have two wins at Fremont this season. Other winners include Chris Andrews, Jacobs, Rob Chaney, Cole Duncan, James McFadden, Christopher Bell and Jamie Veal.

Schatz had a 289 point lead in the World of Outlaw standings with 2013 champion Daryn Pittman second with 13 series wins. Paul McMahan is third in the series points with 5 wins with Kerry Madsen fourth with 6 wins. Joey Saldana sits fifth in the World of Outlaw points with 7 series wins. Among the series top five in points, only Schatz has a career win at Fremont Speedway.

Brad Sweet has five Outlaw wins in 2014 and is 6th in the points with Cody Darrah having 2 wins and sits 7th. Kinser has one series win in 2014 and sits 8th in points and has two career wins at Fremont. David Gravel has five series wins and is 9th in the points with Kraig Kinser 10th in the standings with a win.

Other contenders who are expected at Fremont include Greg Wilson who has 10 career wins at Fremont; Shane Stewart, who has 2 Outlaw wins this season and has 2 career wins at Fremont; Jac Haudenschild who has three career wins at Fremont; and a host of other regional stars.

Gates will open Saturday at 4 p.m. with racing underway at 7 p.m. Reserved seats are $40 and can be obtained by going to Adult general admission is $35 with teen tickets at $20. Pit passes are $40.

For more information go to