O’Gara claims 5th Mel Kenyon Midget Series win of 2015

By Eric Bunn

(Lebanon, IN)  Kyle O’Gara passed Clayton Gaines on lap two of the Mel Kenyon Midget Series race at the Lincoln Tech Indianapolis Speedrome to claim his 5th victory of the 2015 racing season.  With ten races remaining on the 2015 USSA midget racing schedule, O’Gara is positioning himself to break Spencer Bayston’s all time single season record of 10 wins.

O’Gara led 47 laps of the 50-lap feature.  As the leaders raced into lapped traffic, Gaines used the opportunity to close with O’Gara.  Gaines took advantage of O’Gara opening a hole in traffic for him to dive through.  With two laps remaining Gaines closed to within a car length of O’Gara, just missing a chance to make the pass as several lapped cars joined O’Gara and Gaines in a flock of cars crossing the finish line in a tight group.

“Man that was hard. It’s so hard to pass on the outside here.” commented O’Gara after the race.  

Logan Huggler and Simpson World Indy Rookie of the Year candidate Trey Osborne came home in the third and forth spots.  Point leader Dameron Taylor and Ashlea Albertson conducted a race long battle to take the fifth position.  Taylor and Albertson swapped track position several times during the 50 laps with Albertson finally grabbing fifth and making it stick.

Following the June 20 Speedrome race, Taylor continues to lead the point battle with Huggler taking the second slot, followed by Albertson, O’Gara and Ryan Huggler.

The Mel Kenyon Midget Series will return to dirt action Saturday June 27 at US 24 Speedway.  Practice will begin at 6:15 with racing schedule to start at 7:30.