Ian Madsen Fantastic In Lucas Oil ASCS Jackson Nationals Opener

Ian Madsen with his team in victory lane following their victory Friday at Jackson Motorplex. (ASCS / Rob Kocak Photo)
Ian Madsen with his team in victory lane following their victory Friday at Jackson Motorplex. (ASCS / Rob Kocak Photo)
From Bryan Hulbert

JACKSON, Minn. (September 2, 2016) — The opening of the 38th AGCO Jackson Nationals was one for the “Aussies” as the Madsen brothers brought fans to their feet on Friday night with Ian fending off Kerry in the closing laps for his first score of the season with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network.

“I don’t know. He started eighth so he must have been pretty good,” chuckled Ian when asked if the win gave him some bragging rights. “We had a really good race car. It was just really hard to know where to go in one and two on the restarts.”

The 15th winner on the season, Friday’s score is Madsen’s second career Lucas Oil ASCS triumph, as the driver of the No. 18 took full advantage of his pole starting position; holding off Johnny Herrera in the opening laps. Caution on Lap 8 for Brian Brown, who nearly tagged the wall fighting an oil leak, the restart saw Lucas Oil ASCS point’s leader, Sam Hafertepe, Jr. roll top shelf around Herrera for the runner-up spot.

Taking car lengths off Madsen’s advantage before the caution flew again on Lap 13 for Aaron Reutzel who lost the power steering in the No. 87, the Hwy. 79 collision No. 15h was set for slide.

Building the run, Hafertepe let loose the slide job on lap 19 to take over the top spot off the fourth turn. Turning the Aspen Air No. 18 down the track, Madsen returned the favor through turns one and two on Lap 20.

“We were pretty good on the bottom, but just kept getting worse down there and I thought we were going to move up soon and that’s when Sam Hafertepe got by us, but luckily we were able to get back by him and protect the line up there,” said Madsen.

Elbows up and running, Madsen was not out of the woods as he was joined by Kerry and Sam in a three wide battle off turn four with Hafertepe holding the position before the Elk Grove Ford No. 117 made the pass on the twenty-first round. Having charged from 12th, Danny Lasoski let the battle play to his advantage to move to third on Lap 22. Keeping pace with the No. 18, Kerry made his final attempt for the lead in the closing laps, but was denied as Ian would go on to win by 1.788 seconds.

Danny Lasoski crossed third with Sam Hafertepe, Jr. able to hold on for the final transfer into Saturday’s $10,000 to win feature event. After challenging early on, Johnny Herrera completed the top-five.

Lee Grosz was sixth with Matt Covington coming from the second B-Main to finish seventh in the T&L Foundry No. 95. Blake Hahn advanced six position to eighth with Wayne Johnson and Tim Kaeding completing the top-ten.

The opening night of the AGCO Jackson Nationals saw 39 drivers checking in. Five Heat Races went to Carson McCarl, Tim Kaeding, Sam Hafertepe, Jr., Seth Bergman, and Tasker Phillips. B-Mains were topped by Skylar Prochaska and Matt Covington. Johnny Herrera was the night’s High Point driver out of the Heat Races. No provisional starts were used.

The 38th AGCO Jackson Nationals continues on Saturday, September 3 with the National Sprint League on tap along with the HRA Non-Wing Sprints. The Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network returns on Sunday, September 4. Both night’s get underway with Hot Laps at 7:00 P.M. (CDT). For more information on the Jackson Motorplex, log ontohttp://www.jacksonmotorplex.com.

For continued updates on the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.

Race Results:

ASCS National
Jackson Motorplex – Jackson, Minn.
38th AGCO Jackson Nationals – Night 1
Friday, September 2, 2016

Car Count: 39

ButlerBuilt Heat Races (Top 16 in Passing Points advance to the A-Feature)

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 6-Carson McCarl[1]; 2. 1M-Danny Lasoski[3]; 3. 52-Blake Hahn[5]; 4. 5J-Jamie Ball[8]; 5. 35-Skylar Prochaska[7]; 6. 2H-Bill Boles[6]; 7. 1A-John Anderson[2]; 8. 4-Adam Speckman[4]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 3-Tim Kaeding[2]; 2. 18-Ian Madsen[6]; 3. 7-Kaley Gharst[1]; 4. 17-Josh Baughman[8]; 5. 14K-Kyle Bellm[4]; 6. 75C-Casey Heser[7]; 7. 612-Issac Schruers[3]; 8. 4H-Cody Hansen[5]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[2]; 2. 2C-Wayne Johnson[3]; 3. 4J-Lee Grosz[6]; 4. 21-Brian Brown[7]; 5. 2L-Logan Forler[5]; 6. 33-James Broty[8]; 7. 10J-Justin Jacobsma[4]; 8. (DNF) 14-Ben Holmberg[1]

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 23-Seth Bergman[2]; 2. 117-Kerry Madsen[6]; 3. 87-Aaron Reutzel[5]; 4. 95-Matt Covington[1]; 5. 17B-Ryan Bickett[3]; 6. 23W-Scott Winters[8]; 7. 11X-Gregg Bakker[7]; 8. 32-Dalton Johnson[4]

Heat 5 (8 Laps): 1. 7W-Tasker Phillips[2]; 2. 45X-Johnny Herrera[7]; 3. 44-Chris Martin[3]; 4. 13MJ-Brandon Halverson[4]; 5. 2-Derrik Lusk[5]; 6. 17W-Harli White[1]; 7. 5M-Troy Manteufel[6]

BMRS B-Feature (Top 3 finishers transfer to the tail of the A)

B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 35-Skylar Prochaska[2]; 2. 2L-Logan Forler[4]; 3. 44-Chris Martin[1]; 4. 17B-Ryan Bickett[6]; 5. 23W-Scott Winters[7]; 6. 33-James Broty[3]; 7. 10J-Justin Jacobsma[9]; 8. 14-Ben Holmberg[12]; 9. 4-Adam Speckman[11]; 10. 1A-John Anderson[10]; 11. (DNF) 17W-Harli White[8]; 12. (DNF) 14K-Kyle Bellm[5]

B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. 95-Matt Covington[3]; 2. 7-Kaley Gharst[1]; 3. 11X-Gregg Bakker[7]; 4. 2-Derrik Lusk[4]; 5. 13MJ-Brandon Halverson[2]; 6. 5M-Troy Manteufel[8]; 7. 2H-Bill Boles[6]; 8. 75C-Casey Heser[5]; 9. 4H-Cody Hansen[10]; 10. 612-Issac Schruers[9]; 11. (DNF) 32-Dalton Johnson[11]

Protect the Harvest A-Feature

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 18-Ian Madsen[1]; 2. 117-Kerry Madsen[8]; 3. 1M-Danny Lasoski[12]; 4. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[5]; 5. 45X-Johnny Herrera[3]; 6. 4J-Lee Grosz[6]; 7. 95-Matt Covington[18]; 8. 52-Blake Hahn[14]; 9. 2C-Wayne Johnson[13]; 10. 3-Tim Kaeding[2]; 11. 21-Brian Brown[16]; 12. 7W-Tasker Phillips[7]; 13. 11X-Gregg Bakker[22]; 14. 2L-Logan Forler[19]; 15. 35-Skylar Prochaska[17]; 16. 44-Chris Martin[21]; 17. 5J-Jamie Ball[10]; 18. (DNF) 17-Josh Baughman[11]; 19. (DNF) 87-Aaron Reutzel[15]; 20. (DNF) 23-Seth Bergman[4]; 21. (DNF) 7-Kaley Gharst[20]; 22. (DNF) 6-Carson McCarl[9]

Lap Leader(s): Ian Madsen 1-18, 20-25; Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 19
FSR High Point Driver: Johnny Herrera
Hard Charger: Matt Covington +11
Provisional(s): N/A

2016 ASCS National Driver Standings (Top 10): 1. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 3,716; 2. Johnny Herrera 3,500; 3. Blake Hahn 3,294; 4. Wayne Johnson 3,263; 5. Matt Covington 3,191; 6. Seth Bergman 3,177; 7. Logan Forler 3,147; 8. Aaron Reutzel 2,942; 9. Josh Baughman 2,277; 10. Kyle Bellm 2,256;