NEMA Announces 15-Race Schedule


Brockton, MA – A challenging 15-race schedule will mark the Northeastern Midget Association’s 58th season. NEMA kicks off the 2010 agenda at Waterford Speedbowl’s season-opener on March 27-28.

While familiar venues highlight the schedule – four races at Waterford and three for both Monadnock and Seekonk – it includes a new challenge as well. NEMA will tentatively be returning to Albany-Saratoga Speedway (Sunday, May 9) for the first time since 1977.

Thompson and Lee USA Speedways will also host NEMA in 2010. The NEMA Lites division, heading into its third season, will be part of 10 programs including the season-opener.

“We think we have an excellent schedule considering the economic environment,” said NEMA President Mike Scrivani Jr. “We certainly know how to get around the places we’ll visit and that insures another very competitive season.”

Stopping two-time champions Randy Cabral (driver) and Tim Bertrand (owner) will be the object of what promises to be an outstanding field.

NEMA’s traditional headliner, the Boston Louie Memorial, is scheduled for Seekonk on Saturday night, Aug. 24. Two other memorial races return for their second season – the Marvin Trophy Race at Thompson on Thursday, July 1 and the Marilyn’s Passion Race at Waterford on Saturday, Sept. 11.

Keeping with tradition, the club will be part of several of New England’s major events including the Carquest Xtreme Tuesday June 6 at Stafford Motor Speedway, Open Wheel Wednesday at Seekonk July 21 and Waterford’s Wings & Wheels on Saturday, Aug. 14.

The traditional finale is intact as well, Seekonk’s DAV (Oct. 9-10) and Thompson’s World Series (Oct. 16-17) bringing things to a close.

NEMA NUGGETS – Waterford will host the earliest season debut in NEMA’s history … It will be the sixth time since 1999 that NEMA has opened the season at the Connecticut oval … Defending champions Randy Cabral (driver) and Tim Bertrand (owner) will be looking for a third-straight season opener including 2008 at Waterford. Drew Fornoro has won the most NEMA season openers – seven … With the exception of Albany-Saratoga, only Nokie Fornoro and Bobby Santos III have won a NEMA feature at every track on the 2010 schedule. Russ Stoehr and Cabral have missed only at Stafford … It will be NEMA’s 19th visit to Albany-Saratoga. Lee Smith won the last visit on July 1, 1977.

2010 NEMA Schedule

March 27-28 (Sat/Sun), *Waterford Speedbowl
May 9, (Sun),*Albany-Saratoga
May 29 (Sat), *Monadnock Speedway
June 25 (Fri), *Lee USA Speedway)
July 1 (Thur) Marvin Trophy Race at Thompson Speedway
July 6 (Tues) Carquest Xtreme Tuesday at Stafford Springs Motor Speedway
July 21 (Wed) Open Wheel Wednesday at Seekonk Speedway
July 24 (Sat),*Waterford
July 31 (Sat), *Monadnock
August 14 (Sat), Wings & Wheels at Waterford
August 21 (Sat), *Boston Louie Memorial at Seekonk
Sept. 4 (Sat),*Monadnock
Sept. 11 (Saturday), *Marilyn’s Passion at Waterford
Oct. 9-10 (Sat./Sun) *DAV at Seekonk
Oct. 16-17 (Sat./Sun.) World Series at Thompson.

*Includes NEMA Lites