By Dick Jordan

Dave Darland and Tracy Hines, second and fourth respectively in the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car standings, continue their pursuit of all-time USAC records this Saturday when the series makes its 2014 Midwest debut at the Lawrenceburg (Ind.) Speedway.

USAC National Sprint Car Series Logo 2013 Tease

Darland has 47 victories and Hines 45 as they continue to challenge all-time series leader Tom Bigelow’s record of 52. Hines also continues his pursuit of 1,000 USAC National feature starts, currently at 993, while Darland became the first to reach the 1,000 plateau in February.


Defending series champion Bryan Clauson has a four-point lead over Darland after winning the most recent series race, at Ocala, Fla. in February. Chase Stockon is three points behind Darland in third and just one point ahead of Hines in fourth.


Darland also leads the all-time list of USAC winners at Lawrenceburg with six, compared to Jon Stanbrough’s five. Stanbrough is currently eighth in the 2014 standings.


Clauson is also the most recent USAC winner at Lawrenceburg. Kevin Thomas Jr. won twice at the “Burg” in 2103.



2014 AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Standings: 1-Bryan Clauson-125; 2-Dave Darland-121; 3-Chase Stockon-118; 4-Tracy Hines-117; 5-Justin Grant-114; 6-Brady Bacon-111; 7-Shane Cottle-106; 8-Jon Stanbrough-87; 9-Chris Windom-84; 10-Robert Ballou-74.