Carson McCarl Awarded Sprint Invaders Feature in Oskaloosa!

From Bill W


Oskaloosa, IA — (April 16, 2014) — Carson McCarl, driving the Mastell Brothers Trailer Service #27 was awarded his first Sprint Invaders feature event win after post-race inspection of Jonathan Cornell’s top wing deemed it illegal on Wednesday night at the Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa, Iowa.  The incident came after a thrilling duel between the two young drivers that featured four lead changes on the half-mile.


Altoona, Iowa’s McCarl shot to the point from his starting position on the pole to open the 20-lap main event with Sedalia, Missouri’s Cornell in pursuit in the Kiowa Line Builders #28.  The leader entered heavy lapped traffic on lap eight, and Cornell shot by to the point using the cushion.


At the halfway point, Cornell led McCarl, Jon Agan, Russ Hall and Matt Moro.  While Cornell rode the cushion a stream of rubber started to form in turns one and two, and McCarl found it.  On lap 16, he darted under Cornell to take the lead back.  With traffic approaching again, Cornell corrected his line and used a lapped car to retake the lead for good.


Cornell crossed first, followed by McCarl, who held off Agan in another good battle.  Hall was sidelined with two laps to go with a broken power steering line.  Moro crossed fourth ahead of Jarrod Schneiderman.  Mike Houseman Jr., hard-charger Ian Madsen, Tasker Phillips, Tony Shilling and Josh Schneiderman rounded out the top ten.  Cornell won his heat and the Shake-up Dash.  Houseman and McCarl both won heats.


“Obviously, I had no idea the rubber was coming in,” said Cornell of McCarl’s brief move past him for the lead.  “We made a few changes and tightened it up for the feature.  When he passed me, I thought it was over and I’d have to tuck in behind him.  We got him again in lapped traffic.  It seemed our car was working a little better in lapped traffic.  These Ostrich Racing engines are the best around.”


“I had a lot of fun,” said McCarl.  “I got the jump and got the lead.  I really couldn’t figure out (turn) one.  I just kept hitting that hole.  I tried going above and below it.  He caught me when I tried to get under a lapped car there.  I really found that rubber with about four laps to go and got by him.  Unfortunately, we got stuck behind lapped cars and I wanted to make him go around me.  Unfortunately, that’s what he did.”


Unfortunately, Cornell was disqualified post-race for additions to the underside of the center panel at the rear of the top wing.  “I didn’t know it was illegal with the Sprint Invaders,” he said afterward.  “We have another wing here we would have used if we’d have known that.”


The Brockway Mechanical & Roofing Sprint Invaders will be back in action Sunday, May 25 at the 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa.  The race originally scheduled for this Friday night at the Independence Motor Speedway has been postponed until Friday, May 30.


Brockway Mechanical & Roofing A main (started), 20 laps: 1. 27, Carson McCarl, Altoona, IA (1) 2. 4, Jon Agan, Knoxville, IA (6) 3. 2m, Matt Moro, Polk City, IA (3) 4. 11s, Jarrod Schneiderman, West Burlington, IA (2) 5. 68, Mike Houseman Jr., Des Moines, IA (5) 6. 18, Ian Madsen, St. Mary’s, NSW, Aust. (14) 7. 7TAZ, Tasker Phillips, Pleasantville, IA (9) 8. 22T, Tony Shilling, Knoxville, IA (10) 9. 49, Josh Schneiderman, West Burlington, IA (8) 10. 22, Bret Tripplett, Lincoln, IL (11) 11. 15, Bobby Mincer, Burlington, IA (13) 12. 6, Mitchell Alexander, Knoxville, IA (15) 13. 10T, Tim Moore, Rock Island, IL (17) 14. 12G, Kelly Graham, Collins, IA (18) 15. 29, Russ Hall, Pleasant Hill, IA (7) 16. 99, Jimmy Davies, Oquawka, IL (16) 17. 83, Dave Getchell, Sperry, IA (12) 18. 10, Wayne Johnson, Knoxville, IA (19) DQ – 28, Jonathan Cornell, Sedalia, MO (4) DNS – 80x, CJ Houseman, Des Moines, IA. Lap Leaders: McCarl 1-7, Cornell 8-15, McCarl 16, Cornell 17-20. KSE Hard-charger: Agan. Hard-charger: Madsen.

Advanced Plumbing & Machine Heat one (started), 8 laps, top two to Dash: 1. Mike Houseman Jr. (2) 2. Jon Agan (5) 3. Russ Hall (7) 4. Josh Schneiderman (1) 5. Bobby Mincer (6) 6. Ian Madsen (3) 7. CJ Houseman (4)

Huston Land Improvement Heat two (started), 8 laps, top two to Dash: 1. Carson McCarl (1) 2. Matt Moro (3) 3. Wayne Johnson (5) 4. Bret Tripplett (4) 5. Dave Getchell (2) 6. Tim Moore (6) 7. Kelly Graham (7)

CenPeCo Lubricants Heat three (started), 8 laps, top two to Dash: 1. Jonathan Cornell (2) 2. Jarrod Schneiderman (1) 3. Tasker Phillips (6) 4. Tony Shilling (5) 5. Mitchell Alexander (4) 6. Jimmy Davies (3)

Budweiser “King of Beers” Shake-up Dash (started), 6 laps: 1. Jonathan Cornell (1) 2. Mike Houseman Jr. (2) 3. Jon Agan (4) 4. Carson McCarl (3) 5. Jarrod Schneiderman (5) 6. Matt Moro (6)


Weld – Tony Shilling

Saldana Racing Products – Mitchell Alexander

Pyrotec – Jimmy Davies