By Dick Jordan

 USAC National Sprint Car Series Logo 2013 Tease

            The first AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car appearance in Minnesota in more than a quarter-century is on tap as the series heads to the upper Midwest for three races this week.

            The Minnesota venue is Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley, Saturday night’s host, following Friday’s race at AMSOIL Speedway in Superior, Wisc. Sunday night’s race is at Angell Park Speedway in Sun Prairie, Wisc.

            Brady Bacon takes a 44-point lead over Dave Darland into the three-week swing after winning the recent “Eastern Storm” title. Bacon pilots the Dynamics, Inc. entry, holders of an all-time record 84 series wins.

            Darland, meanwhile, is chasing the all-time series driver win record, which Tom Bigelow holds at 52. Darland now has 50.

            Friday’s event at Superior includes a “Meet-A-Driver” autograph session as the series makes its first appearance at the 3/8-mile dirt track.

            The last AMSOIL USAC National Sprint race in Minnesota was in 1988 and the winner was Danny Lasoski at Jackson Speedway.

            Darland is the defending winner at Sun Prairie, scoring at the one-third mile dirt track in 2012.

2014 AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Standings: 1-Brady Bacon-836; 2-Dave Darland-792; 3-Chase Stockon-766; 4-Bryan Clauson-752; 5-Jon Stanbrough-719; 6-Tracy Hines-716; 7-Justin Grant-711; 8-Hunter Schuerenberg-638; 9-Chris Windom-583; 10-C.J. Leary-653.