Darland Wins Smack Down, Breaks Bigelow’s Record

Dave Darland breaks Tom Bigelow's record MudclodBob photo
Dave Darland MudclodBob photo
Dave Darland
MudclodBob photo
Dave Darland breaks Tom Bigelow's record MudclodBob photo
Dave Darland breaks Tom Bigelow’s record
MudclodBob photo

Kokomo, IN — (August 23, 2014) — Mother Nature tried her best to keep Dave Darland waiting to break the USAC Amsoil National Sprint Car Series all time win record, but not event the weather could keep Darland from accomplishing his mission at Kokomo Speedway on Sunday.  Darland broke Tom Bigelow’s all time feature win record with his victory during  Kokomo Sprint Car Smack Down on Sunday evening. Robert Ballou, Bryan Clauson, Brady Bacon, and Jon Stanbrough rounded out the top five.

AMSOIL USAC NATIONAL SPRINT CAR RACE RESULTS: August 24, 2014 – Kokomo, Indiana – Kokomo Speedway – Stoops Freightliner-Quality Trailer”Sprint Car Smackdown III”

FIRST QUALIFYING RACE: (10 laps) 1. Justin Grant (#40 Hery), 2. C.J. Leary (#30 Leary), 3. Logan Jarrett (#29 Jarrett), 4. Tyler Courtney (#23c Courtney), 5. Brian Karraker (#3R Byram), 6. Chad Boespflug (#57 Hazen), 7. Brandon Mattox (#28 Mattox). NT

SECOND QUALIFYING RACE: (10 laps) 1. Kevin Thomas Jr. (#9k KT), 2. Brady Short (#11p Pottorff), 3. Casey Shuman (#21k Krockenberger), 4. Landon Simon (#24 Simon), 5. Trevor Kobylarz (#14 Becker), 6. Parker Price-MIller (#9p Ronk), 7. Max McGhee (#17m McGhee). NT

THIRD QUALIFYING RACE: (10 laps) 1. Jerry Coons Jr. (#10E Edison), 2. Kyle Cummins (#21x Pollock), 3. Tracy Hines (#4 Hines), 4. Chris Gurley (#12G Team Automotive), 5. Jarett Andretti (#18 Andretti), 6. Josh Spencer (#66J Spencer). 2:18.21

“KING OF THE HILL” 2-CAR SHOOTOUTS: (3 laps each) Round 1:Chase Stockon (#32 32 TBI) defeated Robert Ballou (#12x Ballou); Dave Darland (#71p Phillips) defeated Bryan Clauson (#20 Stewart/Curb-Agajanian); Brady Bacon (#69 Dynamics) defeated Chris Windom (#11 Walker); and Jon Stanbrough (#66 Amati) defeated Shane Cottle (#2E Epperson). Round 2: Darland defeated Stockon and Bacon defeated Stanbrough. Final Round: Bacon defeated Darland.

B MAIN: (15 laps) 1. Boesplfug, 2. Courtney, 3. Simon, 4. McGhee, 5. Spencer, 6. Gurley, 7. Price-Miller, 8. Kobylarz, 9. Karraker, 10. Andretti, 11. Mattox. NT

FEATURE: (40 laps) 1. Dave Darland, 2. Robert Ballou, 3. Bryan Clauson, 4. Brady Bacon, 5. Jon Stanbrough, 6. Justin Grant, 7. Shane Cottle, 8. Kevin Thomas Jr., 9. Chase Stockon, 10. Kyle Cummins, 11. Logan Jarrett, 12. Chad Boespflug, 13. Brady Short, 14. Tracy Hines, 15. Max McGhee, 16. Josh Spencer, 17. Brian Karraker, 18. C.J. Leary, 19. Casey Shuman, 20. Landon Simon, 21. Jerry Coons Jr., 22. Tyler Courtney, 23. Chris Windom. NT


**McGhee flipped during the second qualifying race. Mattox flipped during the B-Main. Andretti flipped during the B-Main.

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-5 Bacon, Laps 6-40 Darland.

NEW AMSOIL NATIONAL SPRINT POINTS: 1-Darland-1,520, 2-Bacon-1,515, 3-Clauson-1,480, 4-Stanbrough-1,428, 5-Stockon-1,297, 6-Grant-1,230, 7-Windom-1,206, 8-Hines-1,195, 9-Ballou-1,085, 10-Hunter Schuerenberg-1,067.

NEXT AMSOIL NATIONAL SPRINT RACE: August 29 – Terre Haute (IN) Action Track – “Jim Hurtubise Classic”