Hard work pays off for Sellers at Salina

Shane Sellers. (Kent Bergman Photo)

Shane Sellers. (Kent Bergman Photo)
Shane Sellers. (Kent Bergman Photo)
From John Rittenoure

Salinda, OK — (July 18, 2015) — After crashing Friday night at Humboldt, Shane Sellers was very thankful for the help he got on Saturday prior to that nights AmeriFlex Hose and Accessories Oil Capital Racing Series race at Salina Highbanks Speedway.

Sellers flipped his sprinter on Friday forcing the need for repairs. Nigel Calvert and his crew offered their shop and equipment to Sellers and the day was spent thrashing on the car.

But the efforts paid off for Sellers with his second AmeriFlex / OCRS feature victory of the season.

“I have to thank Nigel Calvert and his crew,” Sellers said. “After flipping last night we had use their shop and welder. If it was not for them I probably would not have been out here tonight.”

“It ripped the rear-end out, (bent the) radius rods, it got my brand new wing and bent my brake rotor. It was not a good deal so it was good to get out here and get a win. My guys and my dad worked hard. I feel fortunate to get the win.”

The luck of the feature re-draw put Sellers starting outside front row next to Glen Passmore and was probably the key to winning.

“Starting up front (was a plus) to be honest,” Sellers said of the biggest factor in his win. “The car was perfect. Not many times after a race can you go out there and say you would not have changed much and really the car was great.”

Passmore put his sprinter into the early lead with Sellers in tow. It took eleven laps before Sellers was able to slip around Passmore.

“He was running about the same line and he was a little tight and started pushing,” Sellers said of his move for the lead. “I was able to get by him.”

The front row starting position was important for another reason as well.

“I was having brake problems from my flip last night and that was really playing a part in it,” Sellers said. “I had to really work hard behind the wheel to try and keep my brakes. I had to keep pumping them. I probably pumped it twenty times a lap. The bent brake rotor kept pushing the pucks out so my pedal would go soft. It worked me to death behind the wheel.

“The car was starting to get tight so it would have been nice if the brake was stiffer.”

However Sellers made the best of the situation. Once out front Sellers went the distance on the high-banked 3/8’s mile oval in his Courtney Farms number 4 sprinter. Zach Chappell moved into second on lap 12 and chased Sellers to the checkered for his best finish to-date. Defending OCRS champion Andrew Deal climbed to third, AmeriFlex / OCRS points leader Robert Sellers settled for fourth and Alex DeCamp rounded out the top five.

Charging from 19th starting position after being forced into the wall in the opening heat race, Sean McClelland was sixth at the finish earning him the Action Auto Collision Hard Charger award.

AmeriFlex / Oil Capital Racing Series

Salina Highbanks Speedway – Salina, Okla.

Saturday, July 18, 2015

Car count: 20


Boyd Racing Engines Heat (8 laps) – 1, 84-Alex DeCamp[1]. 2, 69-Glen Passmore[2]. 3, 7F-Andrew Deal[4]. 4, 4-Shane Sellers[7]. 5, 94F-Morgan Fletcher[3]. 6, 88S-Shayla Waddell[6]. 7, 1-Sean McClelland[5].

Shock Doc Heat (8 laps) – 1, 55-Johnny Kent[1]. 2, 16-Nigel Calvert[3]. 3, 17-Brent Bates[4]. 4, 30-Joseph Miller[2]. 5, 007-Michael Bookout[5]. 6, P78-Perry Pickard[6]. 7, 6-David Baxter[7].

Drive Shafts Inc. Heat (8 laps) – 1, 4X-Robert Sellers[3]. 2, 50Z-Zach Chappell[6]. 3, 31-Casey Wills[2]. 4, 87F-Brian McClelland[4]. 5, 53-Brett Wilson[5]. 6, 5-Cameron Hagin[1].

AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories A Feature (25 laps) – 1, 4-Shane Sellers[2]. 2, 50Z-Zach Chappell[4]. 3, 7F-Andrew Deal[5]. 4, 4X-Robert Sellers[3]. 5, 84-Alex DeCamp[6]. 6, 1-Sean McClelland[19]. 7, 31-Casey Wills[10]. 8, 53-Brett Wilson[15]. 9, 16-Nigel Calvert[7]. 10, 5-Cameron Hagin[18]. 11, 94F-Morgan Fletcher[13]. 12, 17-Brent Bates[9]. 13, P78-Perry Pickard[17]. 14, 88S-Shayla Waddell[16]. 15, 007-Michael Bookout[14]. 16, 55-Johnny Kent[8]. 17, 87F-Brian McClelland[12]. 18, 6-David Baxter[20]. 19, 69-Glen Passmore[1]. 20, 30-Joseph Miller[11].

Lap Leaders: Glen Passmore 1-11, Shane Sellers 12-25.