Barksdale Awarded Ameri-Flex / OCRS Victory at Lawton

Top Story OCRS Oil Capital Racing Series

From John Rittenoure

Wawton, OK — (April 9, 2016) — What started out as an amazing performance by rookie Jason McDougal turned into disappointment Saturday the Lawton Speedway.

McDougal, driving in his first sprint car event for car owner Travis Jenkins, led 23 laps and crossed the checkered flag first in the 25-lap Ameri-Flex Hose and Accessories / OCRS main event just ahead of teammate Mike Goodman in second. However, in a post-race tech inspection both McDougal and Goodman were disqualified for a right rear tire infraction. That gave the victory to third place finisher Sheldon Barksdale.

McDougal, who just a week earlier won his first POWRi National Midget main event at Port City Raceway, looked equally impressive in his sprint car debut. In the Car and Fleet Parts third heat McDougal came from inside second row to win.

After a re-draw McDougal lined up outside front row in the 25-lapper next to pole sitter Jerry Bruner. By the end of the first lap McDougal powered into the lead and stayed there until lap eight when defending champion Robert Sellers came charging from fourth place to take the lead. Sellers only led two laps before pulling off with mechanical problems. McDougal resumed the lead and held it to the finish.

Goodman moved into second after Sellers pulled off and chased his teammate to the finish. Sheldon Barksdale passed Gary Owens for third on lap 17. Koby Barksdale advanced from 17th starting position to finish behind Sheldon Barksdale after advancing on a third place B feature finish. Koby Barksdale was the Action Auto Collision Hard Charger for his run through the field.

Gastineau won the opening Wesmar Racing Engines B main from the second position while Kyle Ezell came from third row inside to win the 2nd Wesmar Racing Engines B main.

Ameri-Flex / OCRS Official Results
Lawton Speedway, Lawton, Okla.
Saturday, April 9, 2016

Car count: 34.


Drive Shafts, Inc. Heat 1 (8 laps)
1, 88S-Shayla Waddell[2]. 2, 4AM-Mike Goodman[1]. 3, 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[5]. 4, 24-T.J. Herrell[4]. 5, 5-Cameron Hagin[6]. 6, 54-Michael Gossman[8]. 7, 3-Brian Gramm[3]. 8, 11-Nick Bates[7]. 9, 7D-David Baxter.

A1 Machine Shop Heat 2 (8 laps)
1, 32-Jerry Bruner[1]. 2, 33-Gary Owens[9]. 3, 11J-Gage Cullar[2]. 4, 2W-Whit Gastineau[5]. 5, B52-Brayden Voigt[7]. 6, 91-Derrick Gentilly[6]. 7, 00-Kacee Frazier[8]. 8, 24H-Lightfoot Hawkins[4]. 9, P78-Perry Pickard[3].

Car and Fleet Parts Heat 3 (8 laps)
1, 4PM-Jason McDougal[3]. 2, 14-Shawn Bloomquist[1]. 3, 21J-Brandon Jennings[7]. 4, 94F-Morgan Fletcher[6]. 5, 76H-TJ Honkomp[4]. 6, 007-Michael Bookout[5]. 7, 17H-Brandon Haddad[8]. 8, 55-Johnny Kent[2].

Ameri-Flex / OCRS Heat 4 (8 laps)
1, 4X-Robert Sellers[5]. 2, 5L-Joe Bob Lee[2]. 3, 1-Sean McClelland[8]. 4, 50Z-Zach Chappell[6]. 5, 22-Koby Barksdale[3]. 6, 10K-Kyle Ezell[7]. 7, 41-Tony Layton[4]. 8, 5X-Brent Swift[1].

Wesmar Racing Engines B Feature (12 laps, top 4 transfer)
1, 2W-Whit Gastineau[2]. 2, 50Z-Zach Chappell[1]. 3, 22-Koby Barksdale[5]. 4, 24-T.J. Herrell[3]. 5, 11-Nick Bates[9]. 6, 5-Cameron Hagin[4]. 7, 91-Derrick Gentilly[6]. 8, 7D-David Baxter[11]. 9, 17H-Brandon Haddad[7]. 10, 3-Brian Gramm[8]. 11, 55-Johnny Kent[10].

Wesmar Racing Engines B Feature (12 laps, top 4 transfer)
1, 10K-Kyle Ezell[5]. 2, 11J-Gage Cullar[1]. 3, B52-Brayden Voigt[2]. 4, 76H-TJ Honkomp[4]. 5, 5X-Brent Swift[10]. 6, 007-Michael Bookout[7]. 7, 41-Tony Layton[8]. 8, 54-Michael Gossman[3]. 9, P78-Perry Pickard[11]. 10, 00-Kacee Frazier[6]. 11, 24H-Lightfoot Hawkins[9].

AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories A Feature (25 laps)
1, 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[11]. 2, 22-Koby Barksdale[17]. 3, 2W-Whit Gastineau[13]. 4, 5L-Joe Bob Lee[10]. 5, 33-Gary Owens[4]. 6, 21J-Brandon Jennings[7]. 7, 50Z-Zach Chappell[15]. 8, 24-T.J. Herrell[19]. 9, 76H-TJ Honkomp[20]. 10, 94F-Morgan Fletcher[12]. 11, 14-Shawn Bloomquist[9]. 12, B52-Brayden Voigt[18]. 13, 11J-Gage Cullar[16]. 14, 88S-Shayla Waddell[3]. 15, 32-Jerry Bruner[1]. 16, 4X-Robert Sellers[8]. 17, 1-Sean McClelland[6]. 18, 10K-Kyle Ezell[14]. 19, 4PM-Jason McDougal[2]. (DQ). 20, 4AM-Mike Goodman[5]. (DQ).

Lap Leaders: Jason McDougal 1-7; Robert Sellers 8-9; McDougal 10-25.

Drive Shaft Inc. Heat: Shayla Waddell
A1 Machine Heat: Jerry Bruner
Car & Fleet Heat: Jason McDougal
Ameri-Flex / OCRS Heat: Robert Sellers
D&E Supply Hard Luck Recipient: Brian Gramm
Action Auto Collision Hard Charger Recipient: Koby Barksdale +15
Wesmar Power Parts B-Feature #1 Recipient: Whit Gastineau
Wesmar Power Parts B-Feature #2 Recipient: Kyle Ezell
M&W Aluminum Products Recipients: T.J. Herrell, Brent Swift
Rod End Supply Recipients: Gary Owens, T.J. Honkomp, Jerry Bruner