USAC United States Auto Club Silver Crown Series 2012 LogoFrom Dick Jordan

Only one defending Traxxas USAC Silver Crown Champion has ever won the “Sumar Classic” at the Terre Haute Action Track. Bobby East hopes to become the second when the 2013 series debuts Sunday at the half-mile dirt oval in Terre Haute, Ind.

J.J. Yeley turned the trick in 2003 after winning the 2002 title. He’s the only defending series king to win the race in its 13 previous runnings.

East led all 100 laps enroute to clinching the 2013 series crown. He returns as part of the potent Tony Stewart/Curb-Agajanian Racing team for this Sunday’s event, which concludes with a 50-lap feature.

The “Sumar Classic” was East’s 10th Silver Crown win and gave the Stewart/Curb-Agajanian team an all-time record 27th series win, tying them with Team 6R. East’s teammate Sunday will be two-time Silver Crown Champ and 2010 “Sumar Classic” winner Levi Jones, while the Team 6R camp will field 2004 “Sumar Classic” winner Brian Tyler.

Practice Sunday is scheduled at 5 pm, followed by qualifications at 6. Josh Wise, the 2005 “Sumar Classic” winner, holds the 1-lap track qualifying record of 20.139 seconds. No record has yet been established for the 50-lap distance.

Donnie Beechler won the inaugural race in 1995 and repeated in 1997, Other winners have been Kevin Thomas (1996), Tony Elliott (1998 and 2002), Jack Hewitt (1999), Yeley (2003), Tyler (2004), Wise (2005), Bud Kaeding (2006), Dave Darland (2008), Jones (2010) and East.

“We are excited to kick-start the 2013 Traxxas Silver Crown Series at Terre Haute with fans getting pit access starting at 3 pm,” states series director James Spink. “This is going to be a great season for the series and we think the fans will especially like the double-file restarts.”

Adult race fans purchasing front-gate tickets after the 3 pm opening will be able to access the pit area. Front-gate adult tickets are $25. Infield tickets are $15 and children 5-12 are $5 each. A 15-lap modified feature precedes the “Sumar Classic” main event.