Ocean Sprints 2010 schedule released

From Gary Thomas

Watsonville, CA – The official 2010 racing schedule for the Ocean Speedway 360 Winged Sprint Car Series has been announced today and features a total of 15 dates, with 13 of them being at the home track of Ocean Speedway, while a pair will be held outside of the quarter-mile bullring for the first time.

Some of the highlights on the schedule will include the 50th running of the Johnny Key Classic on Saturday evening August 28. Last year saw eventual track champion Tommy Tarlton of Easton hold off the relentless late race challenges of Campbell’s Bud Kaeding to claim his first career victory in the prestigious event.

Also returning to the schedule this season after much success last year will be a pair of Ocean Sprints vs. California Sprint Car Civil War Series shows with the dates being Friday July 16 and Friday September 24. Last season featured car counts of 41 and 39 cars during the two “Ocean vs. Civil War” events and were captured by Elk Grove’s Kyle Larson and Sacramento’s Mike Henry respectively.

The Ocean Sprint Car Series will also be competing outside of the Ocean Speedway on a pair of separate occasions with the first of those coming on Friday night April 30 at the Santa Maria Speedway. The Ocean Sprints will be a part of the “Doug Fort Memorial” weekend at Santa Maria, which also includes the Golden State Challenge Series the following night to make for an action-packed double-header.

The second event outside of Ocean Speedway for the series will come on Saturday night May 22 at the Tulare Thunderbowl Raceway, which will mark the only winged 360 sprint car event at the 1/3 mile clay oval prior to the running of the annual Trophy Cup later on in the season.

For more information on the Ocean Speedway 360 Winged Sprint Car Series log onto http://www.oceansprints.com and http://www.oceanspeedway.com


Ocean Speedway 360 SPRINT CARS


Friday April 2 Ocean Speedway

Friday April 16 Ocean Speedway

Friday April 30 Santa Maria

Friday May 7 Ocean Speedway

Friday May 14 Ocean Speedway

Saturday May 22 Tulare Thunderbowl Raceway

Friday June 4 Ocean Speedway

Friday June 25 Ocean Speedway (Qualifying Race 1 for Johnny Key Classic)

Friday July 16 Ocean Speedway- “Ocean Sprints vs. Civil War Series” (Qualifying Race 2 for Johnny Key Classic)

Friday July 30 Ocean Speedway (Qualifying Race 3 for Johnny Key Classic)

Friday August 20 (Qualifying Race 4 for Johnny Key Classic)

Saturday August 28 “50th running of the Johnny Key Classic”

Friday September 24 Ocean Speedway “Ocean Sprints vs. Civil War Series”

Friday October 8 Ocean Speedway

Friday October 15 Ocean Speedway